We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2008

This was a great hotel for families. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The continental breakfast was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cba7963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 104 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2008

The hotel is in dire need of new management. We stayed here 4 times so far and each time there was some inncident that involved trying to get in touch with the GM chip and he has yet to respond to us. The morning lady keeps saying he will call us back and apologize for what happened during our stays but he just does not seem to care about his guests at all. When our room was dirty we went to the front desk and talked to the night manager? Which I believe his name started with a J. He was not very helpful at all. Basically telling us we paid for what we got and no refund was allowed at all. This was a very bad decision on his part to not try and fix what the problem was. We will not be staying here anymore or our friends due to this lack of care by the management of this holiday inn express in starkville ms. The managers need to care more about the people that keep them in business and that does not happen here. Most of the regular staff were very helpful at night but the managers need to be replaced ASAP. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank veryangryabouthotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This is, I think, the third time I've stayed at this property, and this was the best of the three stays. No problems at all, the rooms are large and clean; the breakfast was nice (can't beat the signature cinnamon rolls) and the check-in/check-out experience was good. The only negative I really have is that the furnishings/carpeting are starting to look dated and old. Everything still works; it's just not looking new anymore. As one of the farthest properties from MSU, this place might have some trouble on its hands when the new Hilton Garden Inn opens down the street. For now though, still one of the best in town.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spade7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Checked in and all was well, but then later that night when I went to retrieve a pillow, which was stored in one of the t.v. cabinet drawers, out fell a dead water bug. We had our daughters with us and I did not want to alarm them, so I had my husbadnd discretely remove it without their noticing. Next night while my girls and I were in the bathroom, my husband noticed another creature run from behind a picture on the wall. We did not notice any other bugs at any other time of our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

This was a great weekend the hotel was nice and clean. The breakfast could be better. But the attendant was very helpful. The staff was friendly from the housekeepers, to the frontdesk clerk. Would stay at this hotel anytime!!!! VERY COMFORTABLE BED!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Leigh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2007

Stayed here for two nights 3/7 and 3/8/07. Had Room 434, king bed smoking room. Breakfast was great, front desk staff very polite and helpful. Room had view out the front of hotel to watch the traffic on Hwy12. Quiet place, well maintained and clean. Lots of bathroom supplies and great towels in this place. High speed internet worked well with no connection fees or problems. Lots of places to eat within walking distance (Ruby Tuesday's, Wendy's, Chili's, a buffet place). FREE BEER in the lobby from 5PM to 7PM was a big draw for the guests. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Nice place, priced right, great bathrooms !

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank exsingldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Greensboro, NC
27
Reviewed April 29, 2006

The hotel was nice for the price. The front desk staff were excellent. The breakfast was convenient and sufficient. Just note that although you may request a non-smoking room, somehow there is smoke entering your room every day. We suspected it was through the non motorized vents in the bathroom ceiling since the strongest smoke smell was in the bathroom in the morning.

Overall it was a nice hotel and the location was convenient to everything in Starkville.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Starkville hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#4 of 13 in Starkville
268 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chester
Hotel Chester
#3 of 13 in Starkville
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville

Address: 110 B Highway 12 West, Starkville, MS 39759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Starkville
#6 Business Hotel in Starkville
Price Range: $106 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search no more, the Holiday Inn Express University Center is the premier hotel for travelers to the Starkville/ Mississippi State University area. We are a 100% non smoking hotel. The only one in Starkville. Located 1/4 mile from Mississippi State University and 1.25 miles from the Starkville Sportsplex for soccer and softball. Every over-sized room has a large work desk with two phones and data ports and we offer high-speed wireless Internet. Every room is equipped with hair dryers, irons/ ironing boards, and coffeemakers. We offer valet service Mon-Fri and free breakfast is served 7 days a week featuring: fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, cereals, waffles, danish, omelets, bacon and fresh coffee and juices are included daily. We also offer a free social hour Mon-Thurs from 5PM - 7PM. We have popcorn, beer, iced tea and more. Our full service business center is available 24 hrs a day. We also have 22 suites. Each suite has a living area attached to the sleeping room, a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, place settings and a sleeper sofa. Restaurant/ bar on site. We offer reduced rates for extended stay guests. We also have free health club passes and a fitness center on site. Award winning hotel with Wifi wireless. Only 1.25 miles from Starkville Sportsplex for soccer and softball. Pets allowed with a $50 non-refundable deposit. Special event weekends require a two night min (Fri and Sat). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Starkville, Ms
Holiday Inn Express Starkville
Holiday Inn Starkville
Starkville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing