We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, but Average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is your stereotypical Holiday Inn Express. Nothing amazing about the location.

Pros:

Rooms are Spacious
Comfortable Bed
Nice TV
Great Location near MSU
Staff will bend over backwards for you! So Nice and Engaging.

Cons:
The Workout Room is very OLD! Needs Updating.
Breakfast was decent..
Carpet on floor was crazy dirty!


I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 107 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is lovely, new looking. Friendly staff. Lovely lobby area and breakfast area. My only complaint is the internet connection is horrible and slow. Other than that, would highly recommend. Just don't plan on using your computer much!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruiseAgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Stated in room 328 the lumpiness bed I ever slept in. Man throw that thing inthe dumpster. The staff was nice and helpful. Good location near everything. Room was nice and clean. But that bed was terrible.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelFussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear MichaelFussell,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the bed and the air conditioning unit. Whilst, we appreciate you bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great price, fantastic staff, well maintained and clean room make this a top pick. Their pancakes chime was down during my stay.....bummer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My fiance and I were on vacation visiting some old friends of ours at MSU, we stayed for 3 days and asked time after time to get our room serviced and was told by the manager he would have them cleaned when we get back from dinner we arrive to a dirty room we called down and said we would get a 50% refund the following day and that they apologized for the inconvenience . Next day comes and the day manager says we would not be getting a 50% refund rather 10% . Pretty embarrassed when friends arrived n the floors had not been vaccumed or sheets changed . No microwave, refrigerator just a basic room with 10 channels. I highly advise you NOT to go here . We are currently looking for another hotel in starkville .

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chass4101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Chass4101,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I deeply apologize that your room accommodation and the service that you received during your stay fell below your expectations. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed here for a week for a class for my job. It is 5 minutes from Missisissipi State U. My room was nice on the third floor. Decor was muted neutral with lots of outlets and good lighting. King bed was comfortable and firm with a light blanket and plenty of pillows. They have digital thermostats to control the air. The bath lighting was a little dark away from the mirror but plenty of room to spread out toiletries on the granite countertop. They give you plenty of bath gel, lotion, conditioner, etc. but no shower cap, so bring it if you need it. There is a "rain" style shower with good pressure (pull all the way up!). There is no free happy hour at the hotel anymore, but they have a hot breakfast bar with eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, and healthy stuff too. I always took mine to my room so I could watch TV. There is a coffeemaker in the room, hairdryer, iron and board. The wireless internet worked well. Pool gets lots of sun in afternoon. I didn't use the health club, just went walking around the area. There are lots of chain restaurants in the area, 3 in the parking lot. The only thing I did not like was no refrigerator or microwave. I did have a cooler, but running to get ice all the time does get old.
The maids were nice and did a good job. I asked for a later checkout at the front desk and they gave me some extra time so I could come back and change clothes for the trip back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are closer to breakfast, pool, health club, etc. I liked being on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mexilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have stayed previously at this hotel. It is in close proximity to the University. Staff is friendly; breakfast is typical HI Express breakfast, but good and plenty of it. Rooms are nice and big. Rooms temperature controlled by wall thermostat. Comfortable bed. Internet access, slightly slow. Within walking distance of Wendy's, Ruby Tuesday's; Arby's.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room that is away from the elevator and the ice machine! I like quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alagranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Starkville hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#4 of 13 in Starkville
273 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Starkville
Red Roof Inn Starkville
#9 of 13 in Starkville
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville

Address: 110 B Highway 12 West, Starkville, MS 39759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Starkville
#6 Business Hotel in Starkville
Price Range: $106 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search no more, the Holiday Inn Express University Center is the premier hotel for travelers to the Starkville/ Mississippi State University area. We are a 100% non smoking hotel. The only one in Starkville. Located 1/4 mile from Mississippi State University and 1.25 miles from the Starkville Sportsplex for soccer and softball. Every over-sized room has a large work desk with two phones and data ports and we offer high-speed wireless Internet. Every room is equipped with hair dryers, irons/ ironing boards, and coffeemakers. We offer valet service Mon-Fri and free breakfast is served 7 days a week featuring: fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, cereals, waffles, danish, omelets, bacon and fresh coffee and juices are included daily. We also offer a free social hour Mon-Thurs from 5PM - 7PM. We have popcorn, beer, iced tea and more. Our full service business center is available 24 hrs a day. We also have 22 suites. Each suite has a living area attached to the sleeping room, a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, place settings and a sleeper sofa. Restaurant/ bar on site. We offer reduced rates for extended stay guests. We also have free health club passes and a fitness center on site. Award winning hotel with Wifi wireless. Only 1.25 miles from Starkville Sportsplex for soccer and softball. Pets allowed with a $50 non-refundable deposit. Special event weekends require a two night min (Fri and Sat). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Starkville, Ms
Holiday Inn Express Starkville
Holiday Inn Starkville
Starkville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing