We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NASTY!”
Review of University Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Starkville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
University Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“NASTY!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

You will have drug addicts, low-lifes and noise at all hours. Room had exposed wires, filthy bathroom and its just plain falling apart. The staff are rude, vulgar and unfriendly. There's a reason this motel is so cheap! BEWARE!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Project HIghway C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

There were dead bugs on the pillows, the sheets, and the bed. The bathroom was dirty, you can tell nobody cleaned the bathroom in weeks. The bathroom smells like mold, there is also mold on the walls and the ceilling. The sink, the mirror, and the soap holders were chipped, and dirty. The walls need repainting, the room smelled like an old building, which needs to be tore down and rebuilt. Also they ran out of TOWELS and the floors were dirty the whole place is just unsanitized, and infected with BEG BUGS!!! This Motel is PATHETIC!! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: "Rooms on either side are quiet, or nothing"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shatoria Too K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

theres bugs mold and more at no additonal cost lol

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylerdakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed at University motel last week with my construction crew, and i would definitely recommend it. Great price great, great location and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you are coming to Starkville, MS I definitely recommend this motel. Ask for the single kitchenett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Its a cheap place to stay. It fills up every night it seems. The bedding is clean, everything else is not so clean seemingly, or just very very old. Carpet needs to be replaced , and the whole place needs a paint job. Cool sixties pool outside. Crotchy young manager chic, who seems like she is selling herself as well. Its ok if you are looking for something cheap and safe. It doesnt feel unsafe. Just looks like it

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rppc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Starkville hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Starkville
Red Roof Inn Starkville
#9 of 13 in Starkville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chester
Hotel Chester
#4 of 13 in Starkville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Motel

Property: University Motel
Address: 104 Highway 82 West, Starkville, MS 39759
Location: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing