We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay for MSU visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overnight stay for MSU visit”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is new and clean. The beds however are awful. They are supposed to be adjustable from firm to soft. When we checked in the setting was on firm and they were like a brick so I turned them all the way to soft and nothing ever changed, needless to say I did not sleep well. Also, be forewarned, they talk a lot about the great breakfast on their website...it is NOT complimentary...most other hotels in the area have complimentary breakfast. We will be going back to Starkville several times over the next 4 years but I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Starkville, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I apologize for the problems with the bed. I would love to show you that we stand behind our promise. If you will let me know prior to your next visit to Starkville. I would like to upgrade your room and offer you a complimentary breakfast. I think we can show you that we work hard to take care of all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    113
    41
    28
    16
See reviews for
191
36
14
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice place. Breakfast was worth the extra money. The bar employees were friendly and make you feel at home. Easy access to everything around. Great location for visiting our daughter at MSU. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Starkville, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay in Starkville. It is always great to here that a new State fan enjoyed there stay. Our goal is to make you feel like family. Starkville is a wonderful southern community and our staff love the opportunity to make your stay as comfortable and satisfying as possible. We look forward to seeing you on future trips to Starkville. Go Dawgs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Arrived late in the evening but my gps took me right to the hotel as I was not familiar with the area and it is on the outskirts of the city. Check in was easy and the room appeared fine but after about an hour (10 p.m.) I realized that the a/c was not working properly. I called downstairs and the Manager came up (no maintenance person in the evening) and attempted to fix it, I was offered to switch rooms but then it appeared to start cooling so I remained in the original room. Unfortunate choice, as the a/c was loud and kept going on and off all night. I did not rest as it seemed like about every time it came on, it was so loud that it woke me. By that time, it was too late to go through the efforts of switching rooms. I reported it the next morning and they were very apologetic. Gave me a reduction in the room rate but then did not adjust my bill so had to call them back. Other than that frustration, the hotel was beautiful, the staff was friendly and they had a very nice restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryE3520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Starkville, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn of Starkville. I apologize for the a/c issue. I have had our maintenance staff address the issue in that room. On future trips if you would advise me, I will personally check the room prior to arrival to make sure everything is working properly. Your comfort and satisfaction is our promise. We look forward to seeing you on future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice new addition to the Starkville hotel lineup. It's very close to the North side of campus and the 25 bypass. Nice, tidy lobby; clean room; friendly service. Bar tender was a little inattentive, but it was mid-afternoon, so they may not have been expecting patrons. Overall good experience. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Starkville, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn of Starkville. I was glad to see that your stay went well with the exception of the bartender. I have spoken with my Food and Beverage Director about this and he will work with his staff to insure all guests receive proper attention. We look forward to seeing you on future trips to Starkville. Have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Whatever they used to cleaned the floor made the room smell wierd and made the floor horribly stickey!!!! It wasn't just my room. The bride's room and the conference room where the wedding took place was stickey. Same thing in the room's bathroom. And the bed linens were obviously NOT washed. There were stains all over the blanket. This is a hotel that clearly only washes the sheets. I don't like this kind of hotel, especially for THAT price. Other than stickiness and stains, the stay was just fine. No other complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank tiffany2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Starkville, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn of Starkville. I apologize for the experiences that occurred. We strive to keep all the rooms clean and fresh. Our goal is your comfort and satisfaction. When you are in the area next please let me know I would love the chance to take care of dinner and show you we can meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel was very clean, well decorated and the front desk staff and breakfast staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful, polite with great smiles, offering advice on the area. This was not the normal college town hotel that offers the minimum service and accomodations. We did have one issue with the cooling system in our room seemed not up to par but it was not terribly hot at this time so we did not report it but maybe should have to allowed them the opportunity to fix it. We plan on visiting Starkville several times in the next few years since ou daughter is attending vet school there and it is a distance for us to travel and see her. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Starkville, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn of Starkville. Congratulations on your daughters acceptance into the Vet school. Starkville is an exciting small community and we are proud to be able to serve it with a Hilton Brand property. Our goal is your comfort and satisfaction. I have had my maintenance engineer check on the unit in the room you stayed to make sure it is working properly. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Starkville. Go Dawgs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Starkville over Super Bulldog Weekend at Mississippi State for my son who was doing a campus visit there. We booked late so we were going to have to stay in West Point but by some luck, a room opened up here, and were happy it was this hotel being HHonors Gold VIPs. We stayed in a Junior Suite on the 5th floor for about $200 a night. We felt this rate was reasonable being a special event weekend, but any other time, I wouldn't pay more than $130ish. The room was very large, with a separate sitting room with a dividing wall separating it from the bedroom. The bedroom had 1 King Bed, and was one of the new Evolution Sleep System beds whose comfort levels are controlled by the guest. Our bathroom, however, was kind of small and I did notice a few left over hairs from the previous guest, but that was the only issue with that. The breakfast was very nice, with the servers bringing you the food from the buffet and the chefs did a good job cooking the cooked-to-order options, like Omelets, Eggs, Waffles, Pancakes, and much more. We didn't eat at the restaurant for lunch or dinner so we cannot comment on this. The pool and fitness center looked decent, however we didn't take advantage of them so we can't comment further.

The hotels location is good for MS State, but not in the center of Starkville like the Hampton Inn, but the town is pretty small so that was not a big issue. The hotel is on Highway 12, about 1/4-1/2 mile to Highway 82 and about 2-3 minutes from campus. The parking on property is plentiful and lighted.

My son is probably going to choose Mississippi State, so I will be staying many more times.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites provide great space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinBeach001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Starkville, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn of Starkville. Congratulations on your son attending Mississippi State. A very good choice. I was so glad to see that your stay went well for the most part. I apologize about the hair and have talked with my Executive housekeeper about the issue. Know that we work hard to avoid that type of incident and I will stress to my housekeeping staff agian the importance of double checking all linens. Your comments help to make us the best that we can be. we look forward to seeing you on future trips to Starkville. Have a great week and Go Dawgs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Starkville hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
110 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#3 of 13 in Starkville
262 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chester
Hotel Chester
#4 of 13 in Starkville
137 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Starkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Starkville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Address: 975 Highway 12 E, Starkville, MS 39759-4172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Starkville
#3 Business Hotel in Starkville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Starkville 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Starkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville Hotel Starkville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing