We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”
Review of Scienceworks

Scienceworks
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Spotswood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scienceworks makes science an adventure! Through our changing exhibitions, programs and shows, Scienceworks is the perfect day out for curious minds and active bodies! Inside: Imagine tomorrow today in the interactive and innovative Think Ahead exhibition; Take the sporting challenge and learn about the science behind moving your body; Designed especially for 3 - 8 year olds create your own city in Nitty Gritty Super City exhibition; Journey to the stars and beyond at the Melbourne Planetarium; Learn about electricity and lightning through spectacular demonstrations in the Lightning Room; Go on a guided tour of the historic Spotswood Pumping Station; Discover the evolution of Spotswood in the Spotswood Industrial Heritage Walk (mobile tour), and that's just start!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Ideal for school-aged kids, most of the activities are suitable for all ages as long as you're willing to release your inner child and not afraid to play around while getting some interesting info.

The lightening and planetarium offer shows for adults and they have a half area for kids between 3 and 8 years.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marizabelcgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    210
    50
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“KIds Heaven”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Four parent and four kids (6 months, 3, 7 and 11). All had a BALL. This place is as cheap as chips. Free for kids and only 10 Bucks for Adults. We went with the extras - Lightning Room (Kids $4.50 Adults $6) and the Planetarium (Kids $6 Adults $6) well worth the extra fundage. Wow, a full day is not long enough and even with the interjection of streams of schoolkids from time to time, we were still able to access all of the areas. My personal favourite was the Maths area. I cannot believe the relationships between sin and cosin.... Totally blew my mind. We all loved the ability to interact and then send this information home via our emails. The Sports area is also a must. Lightning room brilliant if just to see a Tesla Coil in full swing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank natavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic interactive museum”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Since I visited last the whole exhibit area has been revamped. Certainly a place to intrigue and amuse for quite a few hours. The planetarium is great (small additional cost) but you need to pick your show as some are for children, others for adults. A surprising feature in the adjoining pumphouse. This pumped Melbourne's sewage and is full of some spectacular machines. There is a small show and a café so it is possible to stay for lunch. Parking is easy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank morgan4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Day of Science”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Three families spent a day at Scienceworks. Six adults and six girls between the ages of 4 and 10 were entertained for 4 hours. The math exhibit was fun and a great learning opportunity for the kids. Our girls loved the section devoted to the future and loved designing their futuristic car. We also went to a show that explained the significance of the stars for Australia's indigenous people, a great science and social studies lesson wrapped into one! The price was very reasonable, free for the kids and $10 for adults. The show was $5 each. It was very easy to access by public transportation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Needs some work ”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Yes it was fun but it needs updating. Many things were broken and it was very busy to a point where my kids lost interest. Was a bit disappointed to be honest

Helpful?
1 Thank coupeborgward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scienceworks also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Scienceworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing