We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hotel of Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southaven - Central
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Southaven
Certificate of Excellence
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Hotel of Excellence”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is just a fresh and new as the first day it opened. The hotel, the grounds, the staff, the restaurant are all worthy of the 2013 Excellence award they received. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with all the amenities expected in this type of hotel. It is located one block from many restaurants, a huge shopping mall and many local business of every type you can think of.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and it was very quiet for a good nights rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BryanH987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Southaven - Central, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for your compliments on our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    58
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
58
38
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've stayed here on more than one occasion and each time has been enjoyable. It a newer cleaner hotel and the staff is friendly. It's in close proximity to national and local restaurants as well as shopping. There's a restaurant and bar on site as well as an up to date fitness center and swimming pool. I try to stay here whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Southaven_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southaven - Central, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear esnell,
Thank you for your nice words! I am very glad you enjoy your stay with us each time you return to Southaven. We hope that you have enjoyed our upgraded internet and cable! We look forward to your return to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I booked 5 rooms here for 2 nights at a special rate and printed all of my confirmations that were emailed to me. Upon arrival we presented our confirmations and were told that we could not receive the rate quoted me! The best rate that they could give us was $21/per night higher. Other hotels in the area were booked so we ended up having to pay the higher rate! They had 2 of the rooms wrong. There is no free breakfast like other Holiday Inn Express that I have stayed in before. We had a sofa bed in our room but there was no blanket. I went to the front desk to get a blanket and they informed me that they were out??? I used my debit card to pay for the room. When I got home and checked my account I noticed that they had charged me $241.98 twice!!! I immediately called them and my bank has been disputing it with them for 3 days now and they still have not refunded my account! Never stay here unless you want to be ripped off!!!!!

Room Tip: Not a room here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krad675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Southaven_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southaven - Central, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear krad675,

We apologize for inconvenience you and your team experienced at check in. The rooms booked were at government rate. Only one room is valid per ID when traveling on offical government business. While we could not honor the government rate for your sports team, we did honor the discounted team rate. Our facility is a full service hotel, so our restaurant is pay from the menu. While the Holiday Inn Express's do offer free continental breakfast, we differentiate our self with fresh cooked specialized food items. We ensured to researched the transaction and found the charges to be valid. Again, we apologize and wish your team a successful season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm a business traveler spending on average 3 nights per week on the road. While this motel is better than others in town, it could be better. I have stayed at this property at least 10 times in the past 90 days. Rooms are reasonably clean, but on one recent stay the ceiling leaked during a rain. It was clear from the staining it was not the first time. Last week, the carpet had a peculiar smell and the AC thermostat did not seem to work correctly.

How could they be better? Replace my toiletries each morning (shampoo), consistently provide two bars of soap, provide faster check-in time, use an odor neutralizer in rooms, mop bathroom floors after each guest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony4LMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Southaven_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southaven - Central, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Tony4LMI,

I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. In Decemeber 2012, The Hamister Corporation purchased this property and we have been continuiously working hard to repair certain areas to make our guest's stay comfortable and convenient. I apologize for the issues you experienced in the room. It is our goal to provide quality, superior service, and ability to attend to every need. This is an issue that will be advoided in the future with our renovation coming up shortly. We strive on cleanliness so I will ensure these matters will be taken seriously. I would like to invite you back to our hotel for another try when you return to Southaven. You may call us direct for best rate available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

After a long 9 hour drive from Chicago, I couldn't wait to get into the room and go to bed. Upon arrival into the lobby, I saw a sign at the desk stating that I was the VIP guest of the day, and with it, came my own parking space and a nice little care package. I thought it was really sweet! The room was nice and spacious and it was very convenient to have the refrigerator and microwave. The bed was very comfortable, so I had no complaints. I took advantage of the small, but functional exercise room and was able to a few laps in the pool. The food was decent and because we had the premium package, we had breakfast vouchers, which really came in handy. It was conveniently near a shopping center, as well as the expressway to get back and forth to Memphis. I thought the price was a little high for the area, but I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the premium package to get the rooms on the 5th floor, which has its own business center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onekemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessica9887, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southaven - Central, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed being VIP guest of day! We really enjoy making our guests feel special! I am very glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and convenient. We hope to see you next time you travel to the midsouth area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horn Lake, Mississippi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Here I am again in Southaven, MS. In the future, I will rank the Southaven hotels to help people maneuver the Memphis area. This is my next hotel. All I can say is that it was an between average/good stay. It was good in every category, but it was not excellent. If you want your money's worth, stay here. If you are looking for extras and extreme comfort, go somewhere else. This is the way lower rate hotel should act. It was secure, but boring. My biggest complaint is the restrooms. Totally needs a design makeover. This is only to the Holiday Inn room design officials. The door wouldn't stay open. It is too wide. If you are sitting on the toilet, watch your head when you finish. It may hit the door. The door prevents you from getting into the shower through the front door and the toilet makes it hard to go through the back door. The counterspace is too small. Really, the restrooms are too small. Me and roomate had to take turns going in the restroom because of the space. We kept bumping into each other. Please redesign the restroom. The shower is oversized, but 2 people can't get in the restroom, anyway. Also, watch out for that shower door track, it will part your toes. Regular guest, go ahead and stay here. It's something the design staff can fix. But, Marriott has you beat in the comfort category.

Room Tip: Watch yourself in the restrroms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southaven - Central, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Hazel007_12,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We regret our restrooms did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

New property!!! Very close to memphis and tunica. I stay here because I was having my floor done. The staff was nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It is also a smokefree facility.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessica9887, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southaven - Central, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We value our guest's experience at our hotel. We strive for remarkable friendly guest service and noticable cleanliness. We would be very glad to have you back at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southaven hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Memphis Southaven
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Memphis - Southaven
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Memphis - Southaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 17 in Southaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis Southaven
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis Southaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southaven - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southaven - Central

Property: Holiday Inn Southaven - Central
Address: 280 Marathon Way, Southaven, MS 38671-9554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Southaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southaven
#3 Business Hotel in Southaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southaven - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is just minutes off I-55 at exit 289. Located just one block off of Goodman Road in one of the most thriving areas of Southaven. We are just 15 minutes from downtown Memphis for all the area attractions or the Memphis International Airport. Quiet location with clean comfortable accommodations. All rooms have a microwave, refrigerator, coffee service, HD TV and complimentary internet service that are fast and reliable. We have a restaurant and lounge on site, indoor pool, two outdoor patios, and lots of parking. No fees for parking. Parking lot can accommodate large vehicles. Our friendly staff is waiting to greet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Southaven - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southaven - Central Hotel Southaven
Southaven Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Memphis Southaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing