We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Southaven
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Southaven
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel with great location”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The location is great – just minutes from Elvis’s Graceland but the hotel quality is not what I expected from a Marriott Courtyard. Very outdated, indoor pool with incorrect water circulation had lots of hair on surface. Towels were so old that they did not dry my body – the felt like sand paper. This hotel wants $9 for a very simple breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USSlovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    42
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
30
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Foreman, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a nice hotel with many stores, restaurants, and a movie theatre close by. Stayed 2 nights and it was very quiet. Room was located next to the elevator and never even heard it. Night 1 a college band checked in at approximately 10:30 pm and I did not even know it until the next morning. The 2nd night they were also full but still remained quiet. The room was clean and the a/c worked well, bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and accomodating. I did not use the gym or pool but they looked nice. Grounds were also well kept. I will stay at this location again when I return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rem1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin Island, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed one night with wife and two kids on Friday, July 13 in the middle of a long vacation drive. The hotel was completely full mostly with families in town for a baseball tournament. Unattended children as young as toddlers were roaming the hotel, pool and fitness areas, the lobby and elevators. The room adjacent to ours was occupied by 10-12 completey unsupervised and out-of-control 13-year old boys. Loud conversation, wrestling, knocking on the connecting door and countless comings and goings went on until well after 2:00 AM. Can't determine how long exactly since we eventually passed out from exhaustion. Repeated phone calls to the desk resulted in an occasional visit by a securty guard but no attempt to enforce the hotel's rules about maximum room occupancy or unattended minors. Noise resumed immediately after each visit. At checkout we requested not to be charged since our only goal was a decent night's sleep, which was impossible. The desk clerk refused to reduce the bill by more than a pittance and insisted there was no manager present with whom i might continue the conversation. Very dissapointing from a brand that typically does better.

Room Tip: be sure to check and see if there's a special event at this hotel before booking. They did an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was one of the best hotels that my wife and I have ever stayed at. Walked into the lobby (which had a light smell of bleach which made me think that someone had been cleaning in that area but it was like that the whole time) and greeted by staff. Fast check in, went to get luggage from car when a very kind gentleman came out and carried on a friendly conversation for a short time. When we started back into the hotel he asked if he could take our luggage in for us. That's when we figured out that it was either the manager or someone from management. The room was really clean. The air conditioner was working really well ( temperature outside was 104 degrees). I found out that I had forgotten my deodorant and I decided to call the front desk to see if they had a complementary size deodorant (not really thinking that they had it). But to my surprise, they had it and at a decent size. Great location with shopping centers and restaurants in the area. I will certainly visit this hotel again. Note: For some reason when I attempted to put the address in my GPS it would not take. I asked someone at the desk and they stated that other people have had the same problem. If your GPS does not accept the address, there is the "Baptist Memorial Hospital" right next to the hotel which it may accept that address.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I don't usually stay at Courtyard's but was on a trip with extended family who picked this hotel. The hotel overall was pleasant and appeared to be relatively new. The rooms were clean, the furnishings were decent and the bed was comfortable And the wifi was free and easily accessible. But the gym and the pool was not so great. The gym equipment was sparse with rickety low-end Precor weight training equipment that rubbed while in use, there were no free weights and very poor air circulation. The pool was disgusting and in need of much attention. There were no clean towels available, dirty towels strewn about (even though the pool area was empty) and hair, debris and a thick layer of dirty in the pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv4Kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The hotel was very nice and colorful . It was also updated. The handicap rooms were very spacious and well lighted. My husband was able to drive his scooter around in the bathroom area. Everyone there was very kind. Alot of family traveliers . A great place to rest and relax. The bed was very comphy. The pillows were tiny , so bring your own.

Room Tip: Ask for a updated room and book early. Due to the great price it books fast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Traveling with a group for work and had to stay at the Courtyard as Residence Inn was sold out. Was a nice alternative. Arrived early and they allowed me to check in. As a platinum member with Marriott I was offered free breakfast each morning. Room was okay and nice people working at this hotel.
There was an issue with the pool and hottub the first night, but reported to the fronbt desk and the next day hottub was fixed and they even left an update note in my room. Nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcgolf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southaven hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Memphis Southaven
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Southaven - Central
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 17 in Southaven
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Memphis - Southaven
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Memphis - Southaven
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis Southaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Southaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Southaven

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Southaven
Address: 7225 Sleepy Hollow Dr, Southaven, MS 38671-5148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Southaven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Southaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Southaven 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to be our guest at Courtyard by Marriott Southaven. Our Courtyard by Marriott is conveniently located just South of downtown Memphis, Tennessee. Visit world famous Beale Street. Hotel provides complimentary shuttle to/from the Memphis International Airport. Also near Memphis Zoo, Graceland (the former home of Elvis Presley), and just minutes from nearby Snowden Grove Park, Latimer Lake Park. The Tunica casinos are also located within a 20-minute leisurely drive. Our Courtyard by Marriott was designed around the needs of the discriminating business traveler. We feature free high-speed wireless Internet, free copy and fax service, fitness center, and a 24-hour Market for a late night snack,. Enjoy our reasonable priced hot breakfast buffet served daily. Relax and unwind at our indoor pool and spa. At Courtyard, we help you stay productive and allow you to wake up refreshed for your busy day ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Southaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Memphis Southaven Hotel Southaven
Courtyard Southaven
Southaven Courtyard
Southaven Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing