We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro and Chic and better get there early”

The Pantry on Egmont
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Hawthorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Retro and Chic and better get there early”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Attended here today for breakfast and this is certainly a funky and happy place to eat. There are lovely paintings surrounding the walls and many old books and wares to keep you occupied while you browse the enjoyable menu for both breakfast and lunch. I found the prices reasonable and the servings very good. The staff are friendly and helpful and the chef gets the food out at a good speed without losing quality. I liked it and this will be one we will return to.
Just get there early or be prepared to wait for a seat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philandcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous !”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Met a friend here for coffee and cake...what a find! Great staff, yummiest of cakes and delightful atmosphere. I saw a promo too for a degustation evening which sounded superb....it's only small but it's a definite must do if you are in Adelaide.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PixiePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, provided you can find a seat”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We visited here with a friend and just managed to grab the last 3 seats available in the place (by the window). This is a busy little cafe that doesn't take bookings so, on a number of occasions, we've seen how busy it is and kept on driving. Thankfully on this day we were able to find a seat and enjoy some of the delicious food here. I had falafels, which were fantastic, and my friend (from Sydney) had a veggie tart that she swears she will return to Adelaide just to eat again. The food came out fairly quickly and was reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Late brunch (so dunch?)”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Went here with my brother on a Saturday morning and I loved it. The location was awesome (it's sort of out of the way and hidden somewhat) but the place was quite big and we had no problem sitting at one of the tables outside. The guys there were fantastic and really friendly!
I had the 'Smashed Avocado' with added bacon as well as an ice coffee. Went down a treat! It was presented well and the I got good value for money I believe. It's my new favourite brunch (even though we went in the afternoon) place and I wish I could go there more!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“YUMMO”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We will be back, probably not soon enough. Great coffee, inspired menu full of incredibly fresh ingredients, beautiful fresh juice combinations. Super reasonable prices. Lovely ambience. Great sweet personable service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry on Egmont also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Pantry on Egmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing