We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blacken Red Fish to Die For”
Review of Trace Grill

Trace Grill
Ranked #2 of 152 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Mckinney, TX
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Blacken Red Fish to Die For”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

As I am in The Jackson Area on a temporary business asignment I am always looking for an "non chain" local restaurant. The Trace grill was recommended and the recommendation was correct.. A little hard to find for the first time, great home cooking, clean, a friendly staff and fast service with a minimal food wait time.
Over the past 3 months eating at the Trace at least twice a month I have yet to fine a dish that wasn't well prepared. All items on the menu are served fresh and hot with ample portiions.The red fish is always great and when I can't decide it seems like I always order the Blacken Red Fish.
This place is a must if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    39
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great fast blue plate while very busy”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I visited Trace Grill for lunch it's hard to see from the road it's behind Quiznos. We waited in a line to the door that moved quickly! Big menu, blue plates with tons of options. Ordered hamburger steak green beans and baked beans, despite being packed it came out fast, it was just like home cooking. There's nothing fancy about it but it's great!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elianderson21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Decent place but hard to locate”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had heard about this place and came off the parkway deliberately to eat here. We could not find it or a sign for it and just by chance found it after deciding to eat at the Quiznos at the front of the plaza instead. When we mentioned this to the cashier she replied that it's the town's little secret.

There are a lot of items on the menu, you order, give them a name, find a table and then they find you with the food. We both had BLT's but I chose to have a southern tradition on mine - fried green tomatoes.

We found the food to be average but then we ordered something fairly simple.

Parking is at a premium.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistent while always busy”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Always busy is a good sign at a restaurant, and this one is no exception. They have limited hours of operation; they're big with the lunch crowds. There will be lines to order and there will be lines waiting for a table. But I've never had a poor meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great southern food!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place is amazing. The food is always good and the service is great. The plate lunch is very reasonably priced too. I love going here!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trace Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing