We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good!”

Cock of The WALK Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 152 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: World Famous U.S. Pond raised Fried Catfish!
Brandon, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place has great fish and the atmosphere is wonderful. I need to take my daughter soon. She loves that it is right on the water and the waiters that flip the cornbread!

Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    71
    32
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food is fair, but nothing to write home about”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The service is slow, but the servers are friendly. The food is served with the fish, fries and hushpuppies all piled together on a tray. Not a good way to serve a large group who don't necessarily know each other well. Overall experience was not bad, but I really can't say that it was good either.There are plenty of better places in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Southern fried catfish!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife had never had fried catfish so I brought her here. Now she enjoys a trip here each time we visit Jackson. Nothing outstanding - just good ol' southern fried catfish with all the trimmings. I usually don't like coleslaw but can't get enough of theirs. And if you hav eleft overs take them out to the dock and feed the fish and ducks - a real treat for the kids!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rez, Mississippi, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“terrible food, terrible service, very loud”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Horrible experience--fish was not done, hush puppies were so hard to not be eatable, service was not attentive. Last time I ate here had slimiar experience but was hoping it was a one time --nope this must be the norm now. Surrounding have got woren looking. There were several large groups and none were in the enclosed rooms. It was very loud. Children were running around unattended by parents. Sorry to give such a bad review to a place that used to be so good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Popular and Rustic.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

You cannot leave hungry from this restaurant. The staff gives good advice about how much to order. We were a party of 12, including two small children, and the waitperson told us how much to order, which was perfect. The fried catfish, fries, and hushpuppies come on big family style platters, and the cole slaw in tubs. Very tasty, simple menu. lots of sides available, but their main deal is catfish or chicken, and cornbread.
Added benefit is lovely view of huge lake and lots of ducks and geese and seaguls to feed the leftover bread.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyBsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock of The WALK Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cock of The WALK Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing