We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Date”

Sombra Mexican Kitchen
Ranked #10 of 152 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Description: From the fresh-squeezed limejuice and organic agave nectar in every margarita to the made-from-scratch corn and flour tortillas, Sombra focuses on the fresh, flavorful tastes that are at the core of our authentic food and drink. Whether it is a family reunion or a handmade cocktail with a friend at our vibrant bar, Sombra will serve your every need. In addition to the restaurant itself, Sombra offers a private room for up to 40 guests, two outdoor patios and take-out services. If you prefer to host your event at your venue, we'll bring the fiesta to you! Delivery and full-service catering options are available for groups of any size. Our Sales Manager will work with you to create a customized menu within your budget parameters, as well as assistance with rentals and execution of your event. Locally-owned by the same folks that brought you Amerigo and Char, Sombra Mexican Kitchen invites you to experience our passion for the flavor of old and new Mexico!
Ridgeland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Double Date”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very good quality food.
Atmosphere is dim and nice for a "date night"
My spouse and I went here on a double date and we could all hear each other across the table so it is not too loud.
We have always had leftovers for another meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    54
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food, bad service”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

A jillion Mex places in the area and I ended up here. Service was very understaffed and the wait staff didnt have a clue. Food was brought out piece meal and incomplete. Salad not fresh and food was very poor. Some resembled Mexican style but it was awful. We were a large group and they were not prepared.
Ironicaly....not one Mexican working there that I saw. Probably because they would not serve food of this quality. It was however overpriced but the atmosphere was pleasant. Some have called this TexMex....dont defame the great state of Texas.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADA
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“WOW! The best Mexican food i've ever had!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I can't believe how good the food was. We were on vacation passing through Mississippi and I purchased a Groupon for this place so I didn't know what to expect. The queso was amazing and the chips were seasoned, which was something I was not used to but it was very good. I had chicken enchiladas which were so tender that they just fell apart.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Ivy_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary mexican food !”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

When I looked at the menu, I thought higher prices than your usual mexican restaurant!!! But I was in for a surprise !!! The food was great and upscale for a mexican restaurant. We had a tamale with black beans & goat cheese with an  avocado spread; taco salad with the most amazing dressing!!!
Our waiter, Timothy, was on his toes and very attentive .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolynn38052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Being from Texas we usually don't eat Mexican food out of state, but this place is definitely worth a try. Margaritas are tasty too! Very large menu selection. Have eaten here twice and not been disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombra Mexican Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sombra Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing