We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sombra Mexican Kitchen

Sombra Mexican Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 148 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: From the fresh-squeezed limejuice and organic agave nectar in every margarita to the made-from-scratch corn and flour tortillas, Sombra focuses on the fresh, flavorful tastes that are at the core of our authentic food and drink. Whether it is a family reunion or a handmade cocktail with a friend at our vibrant bar, Sombra will serve your every need. In addition to the restaurant itself, Sombra offers a private room for up to 40 guests, two outdoor patios and take-out services. If you prefer to host your event at your venue, we'll bring the fiesta to you! Delivery and full-service catering options are available for groups of any size. Our Sales Manager will work with you to create a customized menu within your budget parameters, as well as assistance with rentals and execution of your event. Locally-owned by the same folks that brought you Amerigo and Char, Sombra Mexican Kitchen invites you to experience our passion for the flavor of old and new Mexico!
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

place looked new and had a great "happy hour", Will certainly eat there again should we return to the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TSwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    49
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Rate Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Extensive menu with plenty options for every diet, including vegetarian. The food was fresh, hot and very tasty. We enjoyed guacamole, shrimp cocktail, vegetarian quesadilla, enchiladias, and chips with salsa. The appetizers were big enough to make a meal. We took food home. Service was attentive and the atmosphere was festive but modern. We will be returning soon to this busy place. The only drawback is that when they are busy it is very loud.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The atmosphere was really nice and the waiter was great. I really wanted to like the food as I have had a hard time finding a mexican restaurant that I like in Mississippi since moving from Texas. The salsa, well it was ok, the fajita's were tough and not what I expected, didn't like the seasoning. I will definitely keep looking for a mexican restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Service was good, the setting right but I find it hard to call this Mexican food, it was very gringo tex-mex offering. If your looking for a bland approach to Mexican food this is the place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, but salty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here many times and often complained about various items being way overly salted. Their chili, beans and the tortilla soup are at the top of the salty list. Other foods like the Sombra salad with chipotle vinaigrette was very good. Enchiladas are very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeKnowFood_219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombra Mexican Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sombra Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing