We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little pricey, but very good food & service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tico's

Tico's
Ranked #10 of 148 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tico's is a well-established restaurant in the Jackson, MS area that is known for its quality steaks. It has been and still continues to consistently be in the top three steak restaurants in the area. The food and service have always been top notch.
Patterson, ID
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but very good food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I visited Tico's with a couple of local business clients who were greeted by name when we entered. The owner came out to visit with my host a little later in the evening. Perhaps the special attention colored my view of the restaurant overall.

While the atmosphere is quite nice, I was a little surprised when I opened the menu and found the bone-in ribeye priced at $55. Their regular ribeye was $39, but it was about a 18-20 oz steak. The quality of the meat was high end and it was prepared perfectly at medium rare. All of the sides were good.

I think I would reserve Tico's for that special occasion as dining there regularly could eat up your expense account fairly quickly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JRGidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Everthing Ala Carte drives up the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you want beef it is probably a great place. The Lamb was poor and the fish was expensive for the portion size. The crab claws were above average. The service staff was above average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joseph j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good except”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Ate there last night and the steaks are excellent although expensive. 8 oz filet with no sides included is $29! Fish offerings are just OK. Fish is delivered Tuesday and Friday and order those days only. The huge disappointment was ordering the Italian salad which comes with a couple of asparagus speers on top and finding out that the asparagus was canned. A restaurant as expensive as this one should be ashamed!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CIVANOSEATTLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wonderful steak served sizzling on the plate...a great quality piece of beef...perfectly cooked every time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DLL1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mymorgan2008
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Must Have For Our Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Tico's is a place that is as others have stated a man cave. If man cave means hunting lodge type of setting. Tico's is just past Northpark Mall and sits back from the roadway. Many times as you pull in and park people are sitting on the porch in rocking chairs just enjoying conversation. Upon entering a hostess stand is front and center where no matter how busy they are you will receive a warm greeting. To the left is a sports bar and the right is a multi level dining room which resembles a ski or hunting lodge. The memorabilia which adorns the walls is interesting to say the least. Having dined there quite a few times I have never had bad service or food. This last trip 2-15-14 My wife and I order fried crab claws, onion rings, and shrimp cocktail for starters. All of these were outstanding. Our entrée orders were (hers) Large filet cooked medium Oscar style which has a wonderful crab cream sauce over top. Also included were grilled asparagus and fresh baked bread with real butter. I ordered the bone in ribeye cooked rare with baked potato stuffed with butter, bacon, sour cream, cheese, and chives. The steaks are served on very hot plates with butter sizzling on the plate. While this may sound like too much food we cleaned our plates and were happily miserable. With everything going on our waitress never missed a beat. She never allowed us to run dry on tea, water, or bread. She was upbeat even after a couple who ate steak and lobster only left her a $5 tip on a $150 ticket. The total for this meal along with 4 import beers and 2 sweet teas came to $180. As we exited the building every member of the staff we passed took pause to say thanks and hope we enjoyed. Tico's is not for the cost cutter or budget diner it is an indulgence. Please future diners remember many times a meal should not be judged on price but the total experience and how long the memory of it lasted in your mind.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mymorgan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing