We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Food in Local Steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tico's

Tico's
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tico's is a well-established restaurant in the Jackson, MS area that is known for its quality steaks. It has been and still continues to consistently be in the top three steak restaurants in the area. The food and service have always been top notch.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Solid Food in Local Steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

While I love the consistency of a Ruth's Chris when traveling, I love finding a local establishment with good quality at a good price. Tico's exceeded my expectations both times I've visited this year. The steak was great (had the filet mignon shish-ka-bob), the Italian salad was different (and good) and the drinks were strong. My Maker's Mark on the rocks was a STRONG pour and since I had to speak at dinner, reminded myself that I have about five drinks in that glass. I didn't order another until AFTER dinner (and no, I wasn't driving). Wait staff attractive, clean, polite. I'll be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PositiveEnerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tico's Pros and Cons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have dined at Tico's several times and found it always consistent--consistently good, consistently comfortable and consistently expensive. There is a generally accepted split in the local population as to where one can find the best steak, Tico's or Shapley's. It's a personal decision (I go with Shapley's) but both are worth the taste-try. I have found other entrees, especially fish dishes, to be very good, as well. Tico's has a low-key, comfy, "hunting-lodge" atmosphere where, if interested, diners can find themselves seated next to state legislators (it's a well-known dining and watering-hole favorite for state pols). Service is good; parking is ample; and location is safe and centrally accessible. One final warning: take plenty of cash or a credit card that's not even close to maxed! The tab for my most recent dinner with a date (two fish entrees, two sides, two teas, one dessert and two coffees) was a bit north of $100.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's what they are known for, my husband hates it, only the atmosphere, and that could have changed by now, but the food is good, but Shapley's is so much better,

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great ambiance, good service and awesome food. If you want a very good steak, Tico's the place to go. The steaks are cooked to order and the selection of sides are abundant/wonderful. I would recommend this place to anyone, especially for a "special occasion" as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlaneFlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service and steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Ask for Nicole or Marisa. Both are excellent servers. Order steak not other entrees. The steak is excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CIVANOSEATTLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tico's also viewed

 

Been to Tico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing