We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food & Atmosphere”
Review of Burgers and Blues

Burgers and Blues
Ranked #15 of 149 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to try something different for take-out when I stumbled across Burgers & Blues. The bartender (take-out orders are taken at the bar) was friendly and quick but very observant with others in the dining room needing service too. There was an awesome blues guitarist playing and his music was pure enjoyment. The burgers & buns are fresh and of a higher quality than MugShots in Flowood. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TallTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    28
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food and awesome staff!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I arrived late on a Tuesday night after work, when I walked in there was only a couple of people hanging out eating. I took a seat at the bar which I never do as the bartender never tends to be the best server when it comes to food. The bartender was like none I have ever seen before, he was there every time I needed him and all I had to do was look at him (and yes, there were people at the bar drinking at the time).

The food came surprisingly fast figuring it is freshly made, the fries are thick cut and excellent and the burger is art in its own right. I got the 8oz B&B burger on wheat bread. The bread isn’t a hamburger bun but more of a wheat roll made to fit the burger. The burger was cooked perfect and all of the toppings looked and tasted like they were just cut 10 minutes prior.

During the meal the bartender was perfect with the conversation (I normally like to be left alone), he checked in on me and provided small chat once in a while and knew when to leave me alone. Upon checking out he even offered to send me off with a fresh Dr. Pepper!

I’m here from Atlanta for a week and am sad to say that I just found this place (on Trip Advisor) on the last night I am here. But the first stop I will make on my return trips will be to Burgers and Blues. Ignore the people saying “it’s alright for a $9.99 burger” or “the wine is ho hum for XXX monies”. It’s not always about the cost or the portion size, you have to take it all in. This includes the place, people, service and cost, if you take this view you will be happy that you came as you will leave feeling like family.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BackhandOU812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent burger, but nothing to brag about for $9.99”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The glass of the house Cabernet wine was ample for $5.00 though the quality wasn't so good. The wait staff was nice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank larioransomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The food was excellent. They have a large outdoor seating area which usually has live music. When we visited, it was chilly and the musician set up inside. Make sure to ask the server where the musicians are going to perform. Staff was exceptionally friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roslahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Phyllis is the BEST”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went to Burgers and Blues on Saturday March 23, 2013 with 4 other friends. It was a very busy afternoon for the restaurant, byt the 20 minute wait went quickly with the great ambient music. Once seated, we were fortunate to have Phyllis as our server. Fun, funny, quick and saw that we were "parched" and just brought us our own pitcher of sweet tea. Loved her from that moment on. She handled our VERY eccentric and flamboyant group with ease and we all had the most wonderful burgers cooked to perfection. I had a wonderful creation with barbecue sauce, cheddar cheese and a fried onion ring on top with sweet potato fries. DELICIOUS. If ever in the area, GO to this restaurant.... and ask for Phyllis !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottC38801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgers and Blues also viewed

 

Been to Burgers and Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing