We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total ripoff”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mediterranean Grocery And Cafe
Ranked #99 of 150 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“total ripoff”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

i do not normally trash a place but i had a terrible experience at this restaurant tonight. First the price for a drink was totally off the wall.My wife had a glass of kendall jackson which was 9 dollars and I had a vodka and tonic ten dollars. This is not new york. Next the vegggies were frozen out of a bag, We had the owner over and compained and he basically blew us off. This place is a joke and is if you go then you are a fool.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefphilfarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jackson ms
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Really authentic Meditarranean food - fresh and top quality.”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Love this place. The owner will drop by and check on you - and tout his herbal tea (that is truly delicious and apparently quite healthy). The fish is great, and the gyros are very good, too, but I love the grilled chicken salad and have a hard time venturing past it as it is great. Overall it is fresh, healthy tasting food in a family-run environment. This is no chain, the people here are inherently invested in their food and your satisfaction.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LetsMaketheMostofIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wish they would not add so much salt”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

While I enjoy many of the dishes at this restaurant, our latest experience was a bit disappointing. The side dishes were very salty -- both the rice and the lentil pilaf were too satly and the mixed vegetables overcooked. My lamb was also overcooked -- I ordered it med. rare and it came well done. The fish was good, but again very salty.
Desserts are good. Hummus is excellent.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best grilled fish in Jackson”
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Wonderfully seasoned, healthy dishes. The best grilled Mahi Mahi in town. Once you have eaten any of the fish dishes here, you will not want to eat fish any where else. Also must tries are the homemade roasted red pepper salad dressing, wonderful fresh tabbouleh, stuffed grape leaves, lentils and rice, perfectly cooked falafel, baba ganoush (eggplant dip), and delicious homemade soups. There is a deli counter for take out items. A great item is the salmon salad. Plus, desserts like baklava and date filled mamools. Try this restaurant once and you will become a regular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The finest Jackson has to offer”
Reviewed January 1, 2009

I have eaten at 90% of Jackson's restaurants and this is by far one of the very best this city has to offer. The food, atmosphere and staff are superb with magnificent choices on the menu and prepared with excellence. I have no doubt once you've eaten here, you will go again and again and again!

Helpful?
Thank foodawareness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterranean Grocery And Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mediterranean Grocery And Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing