We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Campgrounds for children.”
Review of Yogi on the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelahatchie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yogi on the Lake
Starkville, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Campgrounds for children.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We camped in our 19 foot pop out camper. We were there the weekend before Halloween and the activities at Yogi on the lake were perfect. My daughters (3 yrs and 4 yrs) loved trick or treating at all the camp sites and cabins. We enjoyed it and will be back this year!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamFam07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I really enjoyed Yogi on the lake I am ready to bring my camper back soon. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great scenery and fun. I have stayed in the cabins before and they are nice. But my favorite is the campground. I enjoyed the hay ride and the characters. The activity center was very fun

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cham346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We've been going to Yogi on the Lake for over a year now and have always had a good experience. The prices have went up some since last season and tho we understand it, it decreases our value especially during the winter months as there are no real activities for our family that we couldn't get closer to home and for less money. During the summer it's awesome having the water park and we enjoy it. But during winter for $149 a night a walk in the woods isn't very budget friendly or much fun for our kids. We will continue to visit just not as often as we used to.
Robert & Renee'

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyj6fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for a family event and and were only here one night. However our stay was so lovely and the grounds were beautiful that we want to come back. We stayed in a Yogi cabin. Great space and the kids loved the loft. We plan on going back when it is warmer to enjoy the beautiful lake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Miss.
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

'd been wanting to take my family to Jellystone for a few years, and fall is a great time to be outdoors in Mississippi. A long weekend in October provided the perfect opportunity.

If you've never been to a Jellystone Park camping ground, you're in for a treat! It's a nice family camp, with cabins, RV hookups, and places where you can pitch your own tent! Because my crew isn't much for roughing it, we booked a fully-stocked cabin on the lake. Since we had extra beds, we invited my sister and her two sweet boys to join us.

We loved our little cabin! It was small but snug, with a full kitchen and a wonderful little back deck on the water. We checked in on Friday night, enjoyed the lake view, and pored over Saturday's activities sheet. Because it was mid-October, the camp was in full Halloween mode, with tons of themed events.

On Saturday morning, we made a big breakfast and headed out for some fun. We started at the playground next to the Ranger Station, where the boys climbed and slid and had a grand time before deciding to try out the (free) putt putt golf course. After whacking the ball a bit, it was Pledge with a Bear at the flagpole, where we met Boo-Boo the Bear.

Then, we headed to the Activities Center to board the Hey-Hey Ride. A tractor pulls the trailer all around the park, and you sing songs and wave (Hey-hey. Get it?) to all of the other campers.

Our stomachs growling for lunch, we headed back to the cabin and cooked up baked chicken, macaroni and cheese and green beans. Fortified, it was back to the Activities Center, where we decorated (and ate) cookies, painted ceramics, tie-dyed our own T-shirt and watched The Great Pumpkin on the big TV!

We went back to the cabin to get a fire started. While hubs tended it and prepped for an outdoor supper, we scooted back out to the kids' version of the Trail of Terror, a small indoor blacklight trail with candy at the end. (There is a much scarier walking version of this activity for the older kids. You walk through the pitch-black woods, and costumed monsters jump out at you. I opted for the "no nightmares" offering.) Then, it was off to roast hot dogs and make S'mores under the stars. We'd brought some bags of candy with us, so we also welcomed other campers who came trick or treating. So fun!

Hubs and I spent most of the evening, though, with our feet propped up in front of the fire. We put kids to bed, I poured myself a glass of wine, and we stayed out there, talking and laughing, until the fire burned out.

The next morning, after a quick stop at the Rangers' Station so little people could get souvenirs, we packed up and headed home, other adventures in our future. We so enjoyed our trip to Jellystone. I can't wait to return in the summer, when we can hit the splash pad and rent a boat for fishing!

Room Tip: We chose a Yogi On the Lake cabin, and it was wonderful! Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradshawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Yogi cabin 1 and you can fish right off the deck. The staff is amazing. So many activities for the kids. Nice pool and splash pad, outdoor movie every night, activity center, playground and putt putt. A great place! You can just choose to relax or just do activities all day. They even have a paint a piece type place and you can make tie dye shirts. Loved it!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjg0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brusly, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was an Incredible trip my little family took! Tons to do for the kids, including a Water Park, Swimming Pool, Mini Golf, Playgroud, Movies at Night on a big Screen, Tons of Activities daily, Hayrides, Arcade, Fishing, etc.... We stayed in a Cabin on the Lake which was Amazing! Waking up and seeing The Best View Ever, The Water! My husband and little girl would fish off the back deck while i drank my morning coffee. Memories i will have forever! We had a Blast! They also rent Golf Carts to use while there so you dont have to get in your car everytime you wonder the park. BEST IDEA EVER! We went in the Summer months for the pool and stuff but i'd love to go back in the Fall/Winter months so we can enjoy the Fire pits outside at night. Also, if you have a Camper, this is an Amazing place to go! The RV Spots are pretty much all on the Lake! Incredible Views!! :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leslieghebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yogi on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi on the Lake

Property: Yogi on the Lake
Address: 143 Campground Rd, Pelahatchie, MS 39145-3529 (Formerly Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp Resort)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Pelahatchie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pelahatchie
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yogi on the Lake, also known as Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park in Pelahatchie, is the perfect place to spend a vacation enjoying the great outdoors. We all grew up with Yogi Bear and now you can camp with him too! We offer a huge water park with multiple slides, a large pool, two tennis courts, a playground, miniature golf and amazing planned activities for children of all ages. Campers will love our RV sites, tent sites and wide variety of cabins. Come see us soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing