We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lonestar? More like One Star”

Lone Star Steakhouse
Ranked #55 of 68 Restaurants in Pearl
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Allen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lonestar? More like One Star”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I have dined at Lone Star Steakhouse in the past in various locations, but the Pearl, MS location needs serious attention.

While I was greeted emphatically by the hostess, service after being seated dwindled to almost non existent.

Our waiter seemed disinterested in his job, leaving us for long stretches of time, one time without silverware.

The food was average and no frills and our drinks went unfilled for the entire meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    18
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“1st time-Yuck! 2nd time Okay-Can't really recommend it. Average food.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just spent two weeks in sunny Florida loading up on scuba diving, beaches and seafood restaurants. As a result, we had a craving for a simple steak and baked potato. Returning home to Jackson, MS, this seemed to be the logical place to stop. Bad mistake! First off, it was only ten after four when we stopped and the place was dead. There was only four other persons seated at another table. We noticed five waitresses seated at one table; none were working except the one that served us. Thus, we should have had a great dining experience. However, that was not the case. Our dining experience began with the young woman not being able to spell, “Blue Cheese.” “I don’t know how to spell blue cheese,” she actually admitted. We told her how. That should have been a clue. We ignored it. We had a Texas blossom as a starter, which was quite tasting. We ate the rolls and finished. We had to ask for refills for sweet tea three times, as she never asked us if we wanted a refill. Mind you the temperature outside was a balmy 99degrees and we gladly drank our sweet teas. When she brought out our entrees, she tilted my plate and I nearly wore my dinner. We had to ask her to take away the empty bowl from the rolls. She never checked on us during our meal until the very end. In fact, once she served us she never asked if we needed anything. We had to ask for steak sauce and then another waitress brought it to us, as our server went onto another table of six that just came in as our entrees were served. We knew she ran to them, as a larger party would guarantee her an 18% gratuity. Finally, as we finished our meal, she finally came by and asked how everything was. We told her the food was fine, which it was. We asked for a takeout container for the leftovers for our dogs. She brought it and dropped it onto the floor face down and didn’t even to think to get another one. The last straw was when I visited the ladies room after the check was left on our table. Yuck! I wish I had visited the bathroom before we sat down to order. We would have left immediately. The bathroom was filthy. Flies were in it on the floor. The diaper table was down. There was no toilet paper at all. Only one dispenser had soap in it. Yuck! When we asked to speak with the manager, as we prefer to handle these matters at the moment in person, we were told that he wasn’t it today.
From now on, we will check out the bathrooms before we order in a restaurant we never ate in before. Hence, our tip was just a paltry 10%. As usual for us, we start out at 15% and subtract $1.00 for each incident that ruined our dining experience. We tip well (20% or more) when we have an excellent overall dining experience. Tips are not mandatory and times are tough and I will not tip well for a bad experience. Sorry, but with me, you have to earn your tip. Don’t like that fact, then may I suggest you find another job. We work hard for our money and I’m not about to throw it away for bad service. We’ve lived in three countries not including the U.S.A. We’ve lived in fourteen states. We do a great deal of traveling and have traveled extensively overseas and in the U.S. in between and have eaten at a variety of establishments from café’s and tiny hole in the wall coffee shops to fine dining establishments and have witnessed a lot. Lone Star steakhouse and Saloon in Pearl, MS is not fine dining. It is not a restaurant in the sense that the staff is professional and efficient. I’d say it is more of a glorified McDonald’s and it showed this visit. On top of all of this, we both experienced the runs that night at home. Needless, to say, we won’t be returning and we cannot recommend it to others. Yuck is the one word synopsis of this dining experience.
Update: A couple of hours after filling out a Lone Star online survey, we were contacted by the manager, Pratt Shirley who apologized extensively for our horrible experience above. He was also shocked by what had occurred. He was off this day we were there. I replied with, "Well when the cat is away, the mice must play." After listening to his apologies, we offered him the opportunity to send us a gift certificate in order for us to give this Lone Star a second try.
Update on SECOND visit today: We returned to this LoneStar to give it another try. This time we checked the bathrooms first and they were both clean, as they should be. Though, this experience was overall better than our first stop above, unfortunately, the booth seat on one side was dirty with food crumbs and crumbled straw wrappers, which we had to ask the server to clean. She should have caught that. We mentioned it to the manager, Pratt Shirley and he thanked us for coming back and didn't apologize for the dirty seat. Surprise? No. The service provided by the young female server, Martise was well done. She was friendly, yet professional. She checked on us, checked to see if we wanted dessert or anything else and took the dirty dishes BEFORE presenting us with the check. We told her we appreciated her good service and tipped her accordingly about 22%.
We chose to dine on the Lone Star Cheeseburger and the French Dip without cheese (which is by the way a chef's specialty). Both were okay. It should be noted that it took seventeen minutes for us to get our food and our burger was asked to be rare, which it was. The cook must have been on break back there because we could see the kitchen from our table and saw no movement back there or any food coming out while we waited. There were about five or six servers, a hostess and the manager on the premises and maybe just about six tables with patrons, so it wasn’t busy at all. After the manager made a stop in the kitchen, our food was immediately brought out to us. Sad to say that the food is not great and nothing special; certainly not worth a seventeen minute wait. We won't be going back a third time and can't recommend it. If you're into nothing but steaks, and bland atmosphere, perhaps you may like it, but the atmosphere of this restaurant is old and worn: It gave us both the impression of being in a low rent district. Perhaps the one in Flowood is better, but we'd don't desire to find out. As I said, the food is nothing to go out of the way for. Overall, I have to pass on Lone Star Steak house in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eat in--good. Carry out-- not so good”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night when were here for meeting. It was delicious. -- strip sirloin, salads & vegies. So stopped by to pick up something to eat on red on way home today. Ordered 2 burgers. Not such a good choice. The vegies on burgers were wilty, steak fries not crisp as were last time

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cajunroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus. Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Predictable”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Sometimes we just need the comfort of a predictably decent meal, and we get that with Lone Star's salmon dinner. Tonight was no exception. We've been on the road for several days, tried some local restaurants in other cities, and decided we needed a predictably decent meal. Glenn, our waiter, provided great service ... another "predictable" at Lone Star: somewhat older wait staff who know how to serve and converse. Sometimes "predictable" is just what you need ;-).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Tedious”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our entire dining experience took a little over two hours and not because our food was slow cooked.The wait staff was undermanned and our waitress was mostly unavailable. We ordered our steaks medium and medium rare. When the steaks arrived an hour later the outsides were so hard we could barely get the knives through the surface. They reordered our steaks and when my wife's Black and Blue sirloin came the topping was Bleu Cheese but dried and burned.We asked for the manager and when we expressed our concerns she was somewhat put off and offered no satisfaction.We usually don't order steaks too often but I certainly know how they should be prepared. The only positive aspect of our meal was the beer was nice and cold. Would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Lone Star Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing