We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


Scranton's Restaurants
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in Pascagoula
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For three decades, Scranton's has been serving exceptional cuisine in a unique, casual dining atmosphere. The restaurant makes its home in downtown Pascagoula, Mississippi, in a historic, early 1920's building that once housed the town's firehouse and city hall.Today, remnants of the town's history remain a distinctive part of the dining experience. Guests are welcomed to browse the premises and peek inside the old town vault; dine in the spot where the mayor once conducted business; touch the bars of the town's original jail cell, and glimpse the bright red door that once opened to the old firehouse.But the main attraction at Scranton's is the food - mouthwatering dishes brilliantly prepared with a local flair. Like Scranton's signature Shrimp & Grits; our special recipe of shrimp, mushrooms, peppers and onions poured over baked & seasoned grit cakes. You'll also want to try our Smoked Pulled Pork, slow-cooked and smoked to perfection on premise - or our hearty Crab Cakes, perfectly seasoned and loaded with succulent lump crabmeat. Then there's our unforgettable Seafood Gumbo, She-Crab Soup, savory burgers, crispy fried seafood, Po-boys, salads, fresh fish, juicy steaks, and specials that change daily.The list goes on, but it's always easy to see how Scranton's continues to earn its loyal following and win new fans each day. Come join us for lunch or dinner today, soak in a bit of local history, and experience the great food, fun and friendship that have made Scranton's famous.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I went lunch with co-workers. The atmosphere, history & food were great. Service was good. A little pricey but worth it. A treat for sure.

1 Thank JackiLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Businesss Lunch First Time Visit”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Taken to lunch at Scranton's with business associates.
First time there. They ordered wings for an appetizer and they were some of the best I have tasted. They are on the spicy side but really good. I would definitely order them again.

I had a shrimp salad with spinach and house dressing. Really Good!! Would order it again.

Very friendly and excellent service.

I would return for lunch or dinner if in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IEBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super neat!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Scranton's has a very friendly and welcoming environment! Though my food was just ok, it isn't the restaurants' fault. I just didn't get really full and the taste was SoSo. I ordered gumbo. But at the time I was on a special "dr.'s orders" diet. But what my friends ordered looked delicious and smelled good! I do recommend the restaurant! You'll have a lot of fun. Keep in mind tho.. .there is drinking there.. so watch out for ur kids :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andersonsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Grilled Shrimp Spinach Salad”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Grilled Shrimp Spinach Salad was one of the evening specials. Spinach, purple onion, tomatoes, mandarin oranges, dried cranberries, coconut flakes, toasted pecans, with grilled shrimp piled on top made a really good salad. The homemade poppy seed dressing tied it together well. Wish they would share the dressing recipe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jule J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagdad, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We were upstairs for an event. It was quite expensive. Almost $30.00 per person. The food was terrible. The fish was overlooked and dried out. The vegetables were overlooked and mushy. The only good thing was the bread pudding. Also, we had plastic plates and paper napkins. We also served ourselves and cleaned up the tables. I was expecting something alot nicer for the money. I would not recommend having an event there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank RoeAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Public Relations Manager at Scranton's Restaurants, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are disappointed to hear that you had a bad experience in Scranton's Upstairs Ballroom. We promote our facility upstairs as being the most affordable option in Pascagoula due to the low rate required for using the ballroom itself. It is located in the old historic fire station and the upstairs facility was considered the civic center of its day so the ambience of the room is another high selling point. Now, the amount that you were required to pay to enter the event might not necessarily have been the food cost per person. The coordinator of the event determines how much each ticket is depending on all of the expenses that they incur to put on that event. The coordinator also determines whether to use the stocked black plastic ware or to upgrade to our clear plastic or rent glassware. By no means does this mean that the food quality should not have been superb I am simply addressing the comments that are out of our control. We believe we have determined the event you speak of and we are assessing all aspects of that event including food quality, staff and their level of attentiveness during the event, room quality, etc. Again we sincerely apologize for your less than positive experience with Scranton's. We strive each and every event to improve and request all feedback from each of our clients. In the future we can easily assess and handle these unsatisfied needs on site quicker than we can handle them after the event. My staff is trained to turn every experience into a positive experience even if it takes getting a manager to the event to handle issues that can not be handled by the wait staff themselves. We hope you seriously reconsider using Scranton's Restaurant and Catering in the future and assure you that you will not have another round of what you have experienced at your previous event with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scranton's Restaurants also viewed


Been to Scranton's Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing