We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place for special occasions”
Review of City Grocery

City Grocery
Ranked #4 of 180 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Van Buren
New Albany, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Special place for special occasions”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I ate here the other night with another couple. We eat out every year on New Year's Eve Eve and have done so for many years. It's a very special occasion for us to spend time with our good friends. We chose City Grocery for dinner and were not disappointed. The service was excellent . The food was excellent and the price was not Entirely out the roof. Shrimp and grits is always a good choice. The grouper was very great the night we were there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Btrout51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    88
    52
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg MS
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“reliably delicious and creative”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been going to City Grocery for 15+ years now and have never ever been disappointed. It can be pretty noisy if there are numerous large tables of diners, but it is worth it as long as you aren't seeking a quiet romantic evening out. Of the John C. venues in Oxford, we prefer the offerings at Snack Bar to those at City Grocery, but that is strictly personal preference. Servers at City Grocery are knowledgeable and attentive and help each other. The shrimp and grits is the gold standard for a dish that is now on everyone's menu, and their fish dishes are as good as you will find anywhere. Their menu is actually quite varied, always with seafood, red meat, vegetarian, and fowl options They have a very nice wine list at all price options and make a very tasty Bloody Mary(there also is a very appealing bar upstairs). Entrees are relatively pricey in the $25-30 range for dinner, but are worth it. Desserts are exceptional and should be tried, even if only one share'm for the table. They do have an espresso machine for espressos and cappucinos as well. We usually try to get a table at the front or the back where it is just a little bit quieter. Reservations are a must on weekends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smileyreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Favorite Spot”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This place has some good home style cooking. My husband enjoyed their fried pickles. I got chicken & dumplings which were much better than some other restuarants I've been, too. The prices are reasonable & the atmosphere was great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vardaman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

City Grocery is our favorite place to eat! The Shrimp and Grits are YUMMY! We have always had good service and good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaileyKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdeye, Ark, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“City Grocery gets a gold star!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We visited City Grocery for the first time during this year's Vanderbilt/Ole Miss football game weekend. Don't let the name fool you, it's a very clean, well oiled machine sitting right on the square in Downtown Oxford. You must make a reservation! The staff was attentive in the small, packed restaurant that was once a stable during Reconstruction. It has a lot of charm as does the menu. I had the most delicious sandwich, the Goat Cheese Grilled Cheese Sandwich with homemade wheat bread, pesto and roasted tomatoes. Delicious I tell you! There is no children's menu but they are very accommodating, they offered catfish and french fries and it was perfect. I think you'll love City Grocery. Hats off to Chef John Currence. You'll enjoy the quote from Mark Twain on the menu, "Go to Heaven for the climate, go to hell for the company".

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keelimsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Grocery also viewed

 

Been to City Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing