We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Currence's Fifth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lamar Lounge

The Lamar Lounge
Ranked #24 of 166 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Currence's Fifth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This latest John Currence offering is a bar that specializes in burgers and bbq, with evening music.

We had the barbecue, and it was quite good. The meat came topped with pickled onion, on a toasted bun. The tangy house bbq sauce and slaw were perfect complements.

They are newly opened, so there are some service kinks, and the ice tea was dreadful, but this is a Currence operation, so it will smooth out shortly, I am sure.

After reading the comments about the burgers, and hearing talk on the street, we will be sure to try them next trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OleManRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cool new Currence project. Has kinks to work out.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Really neat smaller restaurant across from the beacon which profits go to various Charity projects. Beautiful bar from late 1800's bought out of the Eddie Fisher estate.

We went for lunch to try the new lunch $3.50 burger. It's not on the menu so you have to be in the know to ask. Burger was great chad the Chili cheese and it was delish.

The handcut fries were the worst fries I've ever eaten. They were 30 seconds away from being burnt and were semi hollow, dry, chewy overdone tubes. After asking for fries that weren't so done, the waitress told me that that's how they make them and everyone else likes them that way. So I proceeded to try each fry looking for the redemptive one and found one good perfectly tasting fry out of my whole $2.25 bunch.

I will try another side next time and give them another shot because in a town with over priced lunches its not a bad deal for a drink, burger and side for $8.45.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lkzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic burgers!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We saw The Lamar Lounge on a Food Network show & knew we'd stop by on our next visit to Oxford. We were not disappointed! The burgers were awesome! Great bun, tender meat, piping hot from the kitchen. Great fries, too. Stop by next time you're in Oxford, you'll love it. Great bar atmosphere, too & super service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OleMiss91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“handcut fries & best burger EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Love all the woodwork inside and the fireplace. The fries are fabulous!! The burger is one of the best I've ever had. We will go back! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Burger and fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Funky little spot - built around the ornate bar from Eddie Fisher's home (Come on! Liz Taylor or Debbie Reynolds drank here with him!) with old bar stools and a big fireplace. We really like their burgers; they don't force you to order them overcooked like some burger joints. Handcut fries. Veggie burger, chicken sandwich, gumbo. Our one complaint: the great burgers are just dropped on a less than ordinary cold bun. There's a lot of good bread available now, they should search out a bun deserving such a good burger. They've recently had a management change, we liked the original team but look forward to the new folks and heading back here again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bloomox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamar Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Lamar Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing