We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of history at every turn”

University of Mississippi
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lawrenceville, NJ
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A bit of history at every turn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My local family took us on a tour of the campus. From the Lyceum where James Meredith entered despite the riots, to the football stadium, to the statues of Confederate soldiers, to the Grove where fans gather before every football Saturday, to Manning Drive, to the beautiful landscaping, this is a place to experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cohen_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    44
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pepe006
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ole Miss is Amazing and Oxford is THE BEST College Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is the most amazing town and campus - and I didn't even go there!

I love the Square - with Fabulous Restaurants and Cute Shops.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pepe006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hotty Toddy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Grove and the surrounding area is bursting at the seams with Rebel football pride. If you go to Oxford, you must take a side trip here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teacheroftigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The University of Mississippi; Ole Miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I am a 1989 graduate of the University. Much has changed since that time in the way of infrastructure and roads, However, the University has not. It's still the greatest school in the south. I am proud to be able to say that I graduated from OLE MISS.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Duckears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No parking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

No parking. Getting a parking pass for visitors is a long involved process that involves long distance walking, stair climbing, standing in line, an Inquisition that the ancient Spain would be proud of. Dont forget any paperwork or you will be sent back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moyennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Mississippi also viewed

 

Been to University of Mississippi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing