We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Rice & Spice

Rice & Spice
Ranked #44 of 180 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Batesville, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had never eaten Thai food before, and I went with my son recently. Ordering the spring rolls in an absolute must. I cannot remember what the name of my entree was, but it was the only one with flat noodles. It was delicious. One of my sons got cashew chicken, which was really good! My other son got green curry with coconut milk. It is ranked in hotness 1-5. He got a one, and it was the hottest thing I have ever put in my mouth but very good. You want to keep eating it, so keep your drink at hand. For dessert we ordered fried ice cream, which was amazing. This is one of my new faves for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teacheroftigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Still the best Asian food in town”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have been to Rice & Spice about 10 times, so far. The food has been consistently great. The service is professional and friendly. My favorite are the curries, although their stir fried selections are excellent, also. You may want to try their green tea as a beverage, which goes very well with the food. My favorite started is the tam yum soup with shrimp.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Light my fire!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very very very good Thai food. Completely traditional. Great people that run the place. Heat earrings are 1 - 5. Start at 3 which was plenty hot for me

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justawallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware, we wont be back.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Friends first attitude toward service. If you knew one of the waitstaff you were well taken care of.
My wife and I were older and felt as if we were in the way. Crowded. People that came in after us ordering multiple courses were served before our simple vegetable and rice dish. Would not have known this if we hadn't been so jammed together. The food was passable. As one who has lived in Asia I know the food, and this is nothing special.
Too many good restaurants in Oxford to spend time or money here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moyennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Still the best Thai Food in Oxford”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I keep eating at Rice and Spice and love it. The curry is always good and well seasoned. While specifically Thai, Rice and Spice continues to be the only place in Oxford with close to authentic asian food. The generic stuff sold as Chinese and Japanese at other Oxford restaurants is eatable, but nothing like real Chinese or Japanese food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice & Spice also viewed

 

Been to Rice & Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing