We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beacon Restaurant

Beacon Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 176 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mt. Vernon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Clearly, this is not a trendy eatery. It has the appearance of a Mom and Pop operation that locals prefer to places like BBB. Our eggs were perfectly cooked and the country ham (a much better option than the bacon) was excellent. Be sure and order the flaky-tasty-buttery biscuits instead of toast. The hash browns were disappointing...limp and greasy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good ole fashioned style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Awesome breakfast, sausage and eggs. It's an old school style eatery. Great service, and fantastic diner style food. Well priced, if you are in Oxford MS, you must have a breakfast here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 927feldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
143 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, but about the same as every other breakfast place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had breakfast at Beacon the morning of March 26, 2014. I had just a traditional breakfast of eggs, sausage, and hash browns. The hash browns were interesting. They were cubed potatoes with onion cooked with them. The were really done just right. The eggs were sunny side up, and perfect. The sausage was patty sausage, and they weren't skimpy patties. I also had toast. I was disappointed that they don't serve butter. They serve a butter substitute, and it wasn't very good. The tab with coffee was a little over $7.00. That is really less than other places like that, and I felt that it was a good value. Overall, the meal was good, but no better than average overall.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cklous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
847 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The bathrooms were disgusting which I makes you wonder what the kitchen looks like. Some of our food was cold. I have been to tons of diners so know what to expect in a "greasy spoon", but I am sure there has to be better options in Oxford.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like Going home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been going to this place since my law school days and continue to go there 30 years later. Fine people and fine food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lawyerowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beacon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beacon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing