We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice country cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beacon Restaurant

Beacon Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 176 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice country cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great breakfast spot for the standard eggs and bacon...and some pretty good pancakes. Inexpensive. Would like to see the confederate flags come off the wall.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank deltaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Fine dining this is not, but the food is good and the prices are even better. Looks the same as it did twenty years ago.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YLHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Been Going Here All My Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

If NOSTALGIA is your thing, this place is for you! It looks exactly like it looked when I was young in the 70's. You must go here for breakfast. The Beacon breakfast is a staple in Oxford. It is just your plain, old-fashioned, hot, delicious bacon, eggs, and toast type of breakfast. You can get pancakes and other things, but nothing can beat a regular old breakfast for a great price. I love it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teacheroftigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Local's Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have been going to the Beacon since I was a little boy. (47 Now) Boy, time sure flys. Anyway, the Beacon has an awesome breakfast and plate lunch. If you were just riding by you probably would not stop in to give it a try. However, trust me, this is fine hometown cooking at it's best. The decor hasn't changed since I have been alive, but neither has the service. Second to none. If you want a good reasonably priced meal for under $10.00 this is your place. I highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duckears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you are looking for a gourmet meal, this won't meet your expectations. If you want to experience a place with character (ala the Mayberry Dinner on the Andy Griffith Show), then you just might love this place.
When I was a kid in the 70's, my dad and I would stop at The Beacon when we went to Ole Miss games. Last fall, my teenage son and I stopped to eat there. After 30+ years away, it was still as good as I remembered. We both had cheeseburgers and onion rings. It was great. The lemon ice box pie was still melt in your mouth good.
The locals who came in for supper were greeted by name as they entered the door. They were typically asked about their families. Our waitress called us "honey" and seemed like an old friend. For a short time, I felt like I had traveled back in time to a place where I just felt comfortable. I can't wait to visit it again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tntands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beacon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beacon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing