We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Oxford trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Oxford
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oxford trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Checked in late, no problem. Rooms had just been updated. Paint was still fresh in the hall.
Breakfast was over the top. Plenty of everything. Staff was very friendly, both at check in and check out. Will be back.

Room Tip: Good options on the rooms with the mini suites at about the same cost as a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lh021349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
16
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were in town for one night and decided to use some priority club points for a night's stay. The hotel was extremely clean and appeared to be new. The staff was friendly and the room was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and all the linens were fresh. The breakfast was not as good as some H I locations I have been to, but hey, it's free. Anyway, I highly recommend this to anyone in town!

Room Tip: I always recommend high floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishlachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently stayed here, and the experience was OK. When we checked in, the only agent there was on a personal call. We waited for her to get off her call to help us. The tone of the conversation was unpleasant, which did not create a comfortable start. She was pleasant when she checked us in, however. We walked to the room and returned through the lobby to unpack the car. She was back on the unpleasant conversation. We talked to a friend in the lobby, and she told us we were talking too loud, and she could not hear the person on the phone. The conversation did not seem that loud, but she was obviously unhappy. We moved everything to the room, left through the lobby to go to dinner, and she still was on a pretty unpleasant personal call. It just really leant an unpleasant vibe in the area.

The room itself was fine, and it appeared to be clean. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, and the room was a comfortable temperature when we arrived. There was also a ceiling fan, which we liked. The shower had plenty of hot water, but the tub did not drain well. After a maybe 10 minute shower, the water was up to my ankles.

The workout area left a bit to be desired. Only 1 of the 4 machines was (mostly) working. The treadmill nearest the entrance worked all right, but it was not fully functioning. Every time I increased the speed over 3.8 mph, it slowed and stopped. It could have been user error, but none of the others would even turn on. Perhaps they needed batteries. There was also no battery in the TV remote. There were a few fans, the temperature was great, and there were plenty of towels available.

The breakfast was fine. There was yogurt, cereal, cinnamon rolls, juices, eggs, biscuits, gravy, etc. Everything was fresh, and the area was clean and maintained.

As I am reading through this review, it sounds like some petty complaints. They are. But I thought it would be important for others perhaps considering a stay here. If the most important thing is a comfortable room, this one was good. Service is a bit lacking.

Room Tip: Only a couple miles to the Ole Miss campus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear LaurieTN,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciated your room accommodation. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the service you received, the tub and fitness center. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This holiday inn express was just ok. The staff was nice and helpful. The room seemed very moist or sticky. Not sure what that was all about. The shower was a rainstorm and the towels were paper thin. Did I mention the staff was nice? Won't book this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Chip G,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I appreciate the kind words for the staff. Please accept my sincerest apologies over the room's condition. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

You rarely find a nice room that also accommodates a family travelling with a pet but this hotel did both. The reservation process was easy and they took good care of placing us near a side exit for easy access with my dog without disrupting other guests who may not appreciate her. The beds were very comfortable and spacious and the room was very clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and met all our needs. Good location from the freeway and plenty of places to get a bite, whether you want to sit down or just grab something fast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Came to Oxford for a visit and was very pleased with the HIE. There was some paint damage to our bathroom but the staff gave us a break on our rate. The employees were very polite and helpful, the breakfast was as good as I have had at any HIE, and the hotel was kept clean and neat. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddleston, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at 4 different Holiday Inn Express locations in the past week and a half, this was a HUGE disappointment. Yes, the lobby and breakfast area are updated, and the rooms are too, sort of.

Peeling new paint in the bathroom, AC worked, a little bit. Very muggy and humid despite AC being turned low. Very nice comfortable beds, and celing fan in the room was great. But... I guess we were spoiled coming from the HI Express in Gonazales, LA, which is brand new. And... the worst part is that the new, fabulous HIE in Gonzales was about the same price as this TIRED HIE in Oxford. About $100 a night is WAY too much.

The breakfast was also a far cry from other HIE locations we have visited.

We also recently stayed at a HIE in Commerce, GA. It's an "older" property - but it was about $70 a night. You get what you pay for. $100 for Oxford was ridiculous.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carterkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear carterkatt,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your comments about the air conditioner has been documented and will certainly be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford-West
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Graduate Oxford
Graduate Oxford
#1 of 10 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Oxford
913.8 mi away
Residence Inn Hamilton
Residence Inn Hamilton
#3 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Batesville
Hampton Inn Batesville
#1 of 8 in Batesville
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: 112 Heritage Dr, Oxford, MS 38655-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oxford is located in the heart of Oxford, Mississippi and 1 mile from the Ole Miss campus. This interior corridor hotel features 81 elegantly appointed guest rooms including 34 suites, complimentary deluxe Continental breakfast, an elevator, coin operated guest laundy, a fitness center and business center. All rooms feature 2 two-line telephones, voice mail, data ports, high speed Internet acess, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, work desk, ergonomic chair, ceiling fans. All suites feature micro/refrigerators with wet bar and sleeper sofa. All basic rooms have microwave/refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing