We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Oxford
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was our second time to stay in two years. It is always very difficult for us to find. Maybe GPS needs updating. The hotel is under rennovation but doing business as usual.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeitaLuetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
16
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We wanted to stay at the Downtown Oxford Inn, which we'd Pricelined in the past. This time it wasn't on Priceline and they wanted $139/night from us. Whaaaa? That's crazy. For *summer* in *Oxford, MS* your best rate is $139/night? So we found HI at a lower rate and were happy to give them our $.

Breakfast was really good. The eggs and biscuits were surprisingly delicious.

The room was great--ours had a hair dryer, microwave, fridge, and even a ceiling fan! And I slept great. We always do a bed bug check of the mattress seams and everything looked clean.

There was some construction going on in the lobby, which apparently some reviewers have a problem with. It didn't bother me and I didn't find it intrusive. I mean, who's hanging out in the lobby of Holiday Inn?

It's true that there's no pool, which is kind of a bummer... but I also think that if you really need a pool, you should check to make sure your hotel has one before you book.

There's free wi-fi, but Internet access is spotty, slow, unreliable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBandGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Great rooms
Lobby ok
Continental breakfast added value
Will go back

Room Tip: Great location for a trip ti Ole Miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowman117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Va
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

My son and I stayed for a night on his way to Ole Miss. The location is fine, two restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel and the campus is a very quick drive down the road. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially with directions.

The room we stayed in, two beds, was large and the refrigerator/microwave included would have been handy if we had stayed longer. BIg bathroom, and the ac worked fine for the usual floor unit.

The renovations continue so the lobby is squeezed, but not the breakfast area. But powered eggs, some breads and cereals and limited fruit options (but the juices and ham slices were great) made for a barely acceptable breakfast. I've stayed at nearly a dozen HI Expresses world wide, and this was not up to the usual breakfast fare I have found at the other hotels. Maybe the renovations impacted the food prep area?

Agree about the internet, it was barely usable the first afternoon we were there, and the next morning, not usable at all. Frustrating for a hotel room that is over $125 a night!

The staff is great, but hope the hotel improves to match its staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VATraveler003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The food is terrible. That aside the Internet doesn't work. They don't support Apple products, but I couldn't get on with my Dell either.

They knocked $20 off my bill-but I still lost an evening of work. Even if they gave me the room for free it would not have been worth it.

I called the tech line they gave me. Waited twenty minutes and they still couldn't solve the problem.

I won't be back

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitttrader1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were in a suite (a larger room) and it was nice and clean, with comfortable beds. Yes, the renovation was still going on; it affects the lobby and surrounding public areas, and the (very small) front desk is somewhat disorganized without handouts for local areas of interest, etc., but the people were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had no problem with the wireless internet. The location is perfect for visiting the university, but the hotel is a little hard to see from the main road - it's on a side street directly behind the Hampton Inn.

This was my first visit to Oxford, so I can't persoanlly compare the Holiday Inn with the Hampton Inn. Although I usually stay at Hampton Inns, in this case the hotel was quoting the same rate for a normal room that I paid at Holiday Inn for the suite - and both hotels are overpriced! They both offer refrigerators in the rooms and free breakfast, and while Hampton had a swimming pool (Holiday Inn does not) it's indoors, and I wanted to be outside enjoying the beautiful weather.

But the deal breaker for me was that Hampton Inn does NOT have wireless internet in the rooms. With more than one person, or wanting to relax on the bed while using the computer, this is an issue.

To summarize - the location is equal (they are next door), Holiday Inn Express is a little cheaper, and although it lacks a swimming pool it does have wireless internet in the guest rooms. I will stay here next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roogirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The wedding party that booked the block of rooms was assured the extensive remodeling would be done before the May wedding. The guest rooms were refurbished and quite nice. The lobby and dining room were in disarray (even on a Saturday and Sunday) and little care was taken to keep the sawdust, noise, and mess away from the guests. The elevators were filthy. It would not have taken a lot of effort to vaccum them and try to keep them clean. The front desk young lady was very apologetic and helpful. Really quite a trooper.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizardgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford-West
2.3 mi away
Graduate Oxford
Graduate Oxford
#1 of 10 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Oxford
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard Oxford
#6 of 10 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Ole Miss
The Inn at Ole Miss
#1 of 2 in University
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: 112 Heritage Dr, Oxford, MS 38655-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oxford is located in the heart of Oxford, Mississippi and 1 mile from the Ole Miss campus. This interior corridor hotel features 81 elegantly appointed guest rooms including 34 suites, complimentary deluxe Continental breakfast, an elevator, coin operated guest laundy, a fitness center and business center. All rooms feature 2 two-line telephones, voice mail, data ports, high speed Internet acess, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, work desk, ergonomic chair, ceiling fans. All suites feature micro/refrigerators with wet bar and sleeper sofa. All basic rooms have microwave/refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing