We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable hotel, very convenient to Ole Miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Heritage Drive, Oxford, MS 38655   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, very convenient to Ole Miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were in a suite (a larger room) and it was nice and clean, with comfortable beds. Yes, the renovation was still going on; it affects the lobby and surrounding public areas, and the (very small) front desk is somewhat disorganized without handouts for local areas of interest, etc., but the people were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had no problem with the wireless internet. The location is perfect for visiting the university, but the hotel is a little hard to see from the main road - it's on a side street directly behind the Hampton Inn.

This was my first visit to Oxford, so I can't persoanlly compare the Holiday Inn with the Hampton Inn. Although I usually stay at Hampton Inns, in this case the hotel was quoting the same rate for a normal room that I paid at Holiday Inn for the suite - and both hotels are overpriced! They both offer refrigerators in the rooms and free breakfast, and while Hampton had a swimming pool (Holiday Inn does not) it's indoors, and I wanted to be outside enjoying the beautiful weather.

But the deal breaker for me was that Hampton Inn does NOT have wireless internet in the rooms. With more than one person, or wanting to relax on the bed while using the computer, this is an issue.

To summarize - the location is equal (they are next door), Holiday Inn Express is a little cheaper, and although it lacks a swimming pool it does have wireless internet in the guest rooms. I will stay here next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roogirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
44
15
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The wedding party that booked the block of rooms was assured the extensive remodeling would be done before the May wedding. The guest rooms were refurbished and quite nice. The lobby and dining room were in disarray (even on a Saturday and Sunday) and little care was taken to keep the sawdust, noise, and mess away from the guests. The elevators were filthy. It would not have taken a lot of effort to vaccum them and try to keep them clean. The front desk young lady was very apologetic and helpful. Really quite a trooper.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizardgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Typical for a Holiday Inn Express. Decent size rooms, decent furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The shower worked great, no problems with temperature or pressure. The rooms have recently be renovated and are clean. It's not fancy (it's a Holiday Inn Express afterall), but were exactly what we were expecting.

The lobby is still under construction, but they have breakfast and other than looking a little odd, there are no problems with it being updated.

A little bit hard to find (poor signage) and right behind a Hamptom Inn.

While there was nothing bad about this, the list price on-line was $149/night. In my opinion that's a bit rediculous for a Holiday Inn Express in a town this size (and not a football/event weekend).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, MO
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Clean, comfortable, great staff. Great breakfast. Resturants within walking distance. What more could you want? Also the gym, Anytime Fitness, we belong to was right across the street. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobkat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Location is good - no more than 10 minutes drive to the Square. Rooms are large and beds are reasonably comfortable. Overall, it is a pretty generic, ordinary, and functional hotel. Breakfast was fair. The room rate was a bit high for what you get, but everything was clean. Lots of free parking.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MvGel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Well, we weren't looking for a swimming pool, just a place to spread out, watch the baseball playoffs, spend the night and amble on. Large room, comfortable sofa and even more comfy beds. Yes, that ceiling fan is a nice touch. Front desk staff absolutely great, as was the nice lady bringing out the breakfast foods.. Everything very clean, and that shower head gave a vigorous spray that would have startled a small child.

Breakfast besides the signature cinnamon rolls was 4 kinds of cold cereal, bread, bagels, English muffins, good biscuits, gravy, sausage and later bacon, scrambled eggs and later small omelets. Good coffee. Two kinds of juice. It's rare for us to have a problem with HIEs and this one gave us what we expect from them.

And first-rate wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

The management at this hotel is terrible. They will not return calls when asked to by their corporate office. I have left messages for the manager several times and she will not respond to my questions. BEWARE!

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank windw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford-West
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Graduate Oxford
Graduate Oxford
#1 of 10 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Oxford
20.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Batesville
Comfort Suites Batesville
#2 of 8 in Batesville
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Batesville
Hampton Inn Batesville
#1 of 8 in Batesville
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: 112 Heritage Drive, Oxford, MS 38655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oxford is located in the heart of Oxford, Mississippi and 3 miles from the Ole Miss campus. This interior corridor hotel features 81 elegantly appointed guest rooms including 34 suites, complimentary deluxe Continental breakfast, an elevator, coin operated guest laundy, a fitness center and business center. All rooms feature 2 two-line telephones, voice mail, data ports, high speed Internet acess, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, work desk, ergonomic chair, ceiling fans. All suites feature micro/refrigerators with wet bar and sleeper sofa. All basic rooms have microwave/refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing