We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer and Wine Selection”
Review of Irie on the Square - CLOSED

Irie on the Square
Cuisines: Jamaican
Restaurant details
Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Wine Selection”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good food, good service, good alcohol...all around good restaurant. I don't know what to recommend. The gumbo is very good. The grilled shrimp is good. I think anyone would be pleased with any of it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teacheroftigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I dropped in here on Valentine's evening after attending Thacker Mountain Radio show at the bookstore. We had both drinks and dinner at the bar: Gumbo, grilled shrimp, asparagus and grilled pineapple. All good. Friendly bartender. Definitely will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bloomox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great food, great people, all round great place!! We ate there almost every night on our visit to oxford! The staff is awesome!!! The owner is such a nice guy! It just makes you want to revisit! We recommend Irie to all our family & friends

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weslaco, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not really Jamaican cuisine...”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I initially did not consider this restaurant when I was reading the trip advisor rankings because it was labeled Jamaican...but after seeing the long line at Ajax decided to step in next door-so glad i did! Great burgers and homemade fries! Even returned the next day to try the chicken sandwich :) make sure to try the mimosas!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MySistersCloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great food great people”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Love love the irie burgers. Very well prepared and have many not your norm toppings. Fries are good. I haven't tried anything but the burgers yet cannot seem to make myself look at the other food because the burgers are that good. The staff, owners, everyone at Erie make you feel welcome. Excellent service, friendly atmosphere. Love this place and always eat here when I am in Oxford.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank irishwhiskey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irie on the Square also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing