We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to eat, good food”
Review of Bottletree Bakery

Bottletree Bakery
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Oxford
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat, good food”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Our recent trip to Oxford included a stop here for breakfast. Friend's advice to avoid the crowd and get there early was spot on. We got there a few minuted before the doors opened and people were already in line. I had the house-made granola with yogurt and very much enjoyed it. We liked the granola so much we purchased a container to enjoy at home-wish we had bought more. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. Overall an excellent experience. I have to add one more thing. Living in Mississippi can make us Northerners miss bagels. The bagels here are expensive! Pricey for what you get, but a treat. Enjoy them at the restaurant or that day. Freezing and later defrosting the bagels we brought home did not do much for them

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelalot18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    22
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

A treasure! Great Strawberry cookies, fantastic flatbreads (I forget what they call them), wonderful coffee drinks, great atmosphere. Always busy and for good reason.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jboboski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Great Find In Oxford”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Surprisingly, we found relatively few places for breakfast around the square the Oxford and were directed to Bottletree Bakery, about a block off the square by a staffer at Square Books. Very casual, baked goods, sandwiches, salads and soups made on premises. Food was excellent and staff and patrons make Oxford look more like Cambridge or Berkeley than a campus in Mississippi.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jdocBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft laud , Fl
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“If its Good Enough For Oprah, It Must Be Good !”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

While visiting Old Miss in Oxford,Ms we do all the things visitors do. Visit the University, Hit all the delicious grocery store/restaurants for Fried Okra and Catfish and then tour Downtown Oxford on a Double Decker tour bus imported from England by Oxford;s mayor. It was during that tour that We noticed a line forming on the famous Courthouse Square in front of the BottleTree Bakery. The next morning my daughter and her boyfriend took us there for breakfast . Prior to entering you can smell the Baked pies,Scones, Bagels, Brioche, Muffins, out on the street . As you go thru the entrance you are greeted by steaming Coffee and Cinnamon buns big enough for three. There is a lady pouring home made White Cinnamon on them until you can't see them anymore. Wow ! . I order a Ham + Swiss Croissant and the chef explains that it has 1240 layers. Its only $ 3.40 and big enough for two. The kids order homemade Granola and my wife tries the Salt and Pepper fresh Bagel with homemade Cream Cheese . I can go on and on but all you need to know is the bill for the 4 of us came to $ 21 . Some folks don't even eat , they fill up on all of the aromas . Oxford has great restaurants and a great education facility and that may be the reason for all of the different license plates.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gmbuylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
421 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best bakery in town and they serve breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Bottletree has been around for years and is still unbeatable, although many new ones have opened shop in Oxford. Bottletree's breads, bagels, muffins and pastries are fresh, innovative and delicious. For lunch, try the Van Buren sandwich - it's a real treat.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottletree Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bottletree Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing