We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all around bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Olive Branch
Certificate of Excellence
nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“all around bad”
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Nasty rooms and rude people make this an experience my family would rather have missed.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank NcAmbereyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWHCCmanagement, Management at Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2008
At Whispering Woods, our housekeeping staff clean each room with detail. Our housekeeping director checks the rooms after they have been cleaned by our ladies and gentlemen. We know which group came through for these dates, and we had management walk each of the rooms they stayed in. We moved the furniture and checked all of the listed issues. We did not find a thing. No bugs, no trash on the floor, nothing at all. We very much value each of our guests and do everything we can to make sure they have a pleasant stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    65
    43
    30
    22
See reviews for
57
22
17
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

This hotel was terrible. One of the worst I have stayed at. When I first arrived I was treated EXTREMELY rudely at the desk. I got to my room and was immediately confronted with a very foul odor, what exactly it was I will never know. To top this, my bed was not made, there was trash on the floor and on the night stand, and there were several stains in the carpet. I called called the desk to complain, and (once again in a very rude manner) told me they would send someone up. An hour later no one had shown up. I called the desk and their response was "We will look into it." That was all. In my anger I went ahead and cleaned the room myself. Believe me, after spending all day in an out of airports on connecting flights, this was not how I wanted to spend my evening. The next morning as I was stepping out of the shower I noticed two large cockroaches in the bathroom (which was very dirty looking as well). In my horror I ran to check other prime spots, such as the drawers and behind the furniture. Sure enough I counted a total of 12 cockroaches! 12! I immediately checked out early, and despite all my issues I was offered no compensation. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — I found nothing enjoyable about this accomodation
  • Disliked — The cockroaches!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dissastisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Absolutely horrid service. Staff were rude and impatient . Rooms has cockroaches and weren't serviced nearly enough. Clearly in need of renovations and new staff. Quite disappointed.

  • Liked — Good price but now i see why
  • Disliked — Worst holiday I have ever been on with the family.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank momo_of_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewildermuth
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2008

A wonderful redecorated hotel, nice rooms, everything was great. The customer service couldn't be beat, don't have a negitive thing to say about it at all.

  • Liked — Friendly helpful staff, beautiful hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ewildermuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

This is a Really TIRED old resort hotel. It is in desparate need of refurbing. Most of the bathroom fixtures didn't work properly, the paint was peeling everywhere, it wasn't clean and is in an inconvenient location.
Would NEVER stay here again.

  • Liked — Leaving this place !!!
  • Disliked — A/C not working, bathroom fixtures didn't work well. You name it....
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank baycircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I was traveling to Memphis with my boyfriend to attend a friend's wedding. I looked all over the Memphis area and could not find a hotel in a safe location with good reviews for under 100 dollars. I booked this room on Priceline for 60 dollars.

The room was very nice, hot showers, beautiful common spaces, and I loved the interior restaurant option. Our room was cleaned in a professional and respectful manner each day after we left even though we often did not leave until well after the staff had made their original sweep of the rooms on our floor. The new remodel makes everything seem fresh and bright and the grounds are lovely with plenty of ducks down by the lake. There is an airport right next door but do not let this deter you as the planes are quite small and cannot be heard.

There were a few downsides to the hotel. The hotel was under construction and we were awakened one morning by the noise, awakened on another morning by a weedeater outside our window, and the pool was being remodeled. One night we wanted to get a drink from The Grill inside the hotel but the bar had closed almost an hour earlier than posted. The hotel room also lacked a "master book" with details about the hotel like a map, hours of the restaurant, etc. We are both in our early 20s and just out of college so these downsides were not enough to disturb our stay.

There are plenty of restaurants in the area and it is not a long drive to Memphis. The drive into the city is a little unsavory but appears to be a problem with the development of the city and not with the location of this hotel. The official exit for the hotel is exit 2 but it is much easier to drive in at exit 6. Overall a very good hotel and I would stay again.

  • Liked — The large comfortable lobbies
  • Disliked — Construction Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ageorgiafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Our group booked 15 rooms for a soccer tournament. This hotel was very accomodating. They offered a breakfast buffet just for our group and put us all together in the same hallway.

There were lots of restaurants nearby for eating. It was somewhat off the beaten path, but very close to the Mike Rose Soccer Complex.

  • Liked — The hotel was quite large with plenty of room for groups to mingle
  • Disliked — Quite a drive from downtown Memphis
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2-travel030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olive Branch hotels
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Olive Branch Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis Olive Branch
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olive Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Olive Branch
Hampton Inn Olive Branch
#5 of 11 in Olive Branch
409 reviews
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#7 of 11 in Olive Branch
103 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Olive Branch
Comfort Suites Olive Branch
#6 of 11 in Olive Branch
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 7300 Hacks Cross Rd, Olive Branch, MS 38654-4454
Location: United States > Mississippi > Olive Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Olive Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Woods Hotel Olive Branch
Whispering Woods Hotel And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing