We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Olive Branch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2008

A wonderful redecorated hotel, nice rooms, everything was great. The customer service couldn't be beat, don't have a negitive thing to say about it at all.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ewildermuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 323 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

This is a Really TIRED old resort hotel. It is in desparate need of refurbing. Most of the bathroom fixtures didn't work properly, the paint was peeling everywhere, it wasn't clean and is in an inconvenient location.
Would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank baycircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I was traveling to Memphis with my boyfriend to attend a friend's wedding. I looked all over the Memphis area and could not find a hotel in a safe location with good reviews for under 100 dollars. I booked this room on Priceline for 60 dollars.

The room was very nice, hot showers, beautiful common spaces, and I loved the interior restaurant option. Our room was cleaned in a professional and respectful manner each day after we left even though we often did not leave until well after the staff had made their original sweep of the rooms on our floor. The new remodel makes everything seem fresh and bright and the grounds are lovely with plenty of ducks down by the lake. There is an airport right next door but do not let this deter you as the planes are quite small and cannot be heard.

There were a few downsides to the hotel. The hotel was under construction and we were awakened one morning by the noise, awakened on another morning by a weedeater outside our window, and the pool was being remodeled. One night we wanted to get a drink from The Grill inside the hotel but the bar had closed almost an hour earlier than posted. The hotel room also lacked a "master book" with details about the hotel like a map, hours of the restaurant, etc. We are both in our early 20s and just out of college so these downsides were not enough to disturb our stay.

There are plenty of restaurants in the area and it is not a long drive to Memphis. The drive into the city is a little unsavory but appears to be a problem with the development of the city and not with the location of this hotel. The official exit for the hotel is exit 2 but it is much easier to drive in at exit 6. Overall a very good hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ageorgiafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Our group booked 15 rooms for a soccer tournament. This hotel was very accomodating. They offered a breakfast buffet just for our group and put us all together in the same hallway.

There were lots of restaurants nearby for eating. It was somewhat off the beaten path, but very close to the Mike Rose Soccer Complex.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Luv2-travel030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

My company had a conference at this hotel and conference center. The conference center was fine (well, except for the electrical fire one morning that filled the ballroom with smoke), but we had the unfortunate experience of having to stay at this location for 4 nights. The rooms were nasty - found dead bugs in the towns, crickets in the room. One of my co-worker's bathtub faucet wouldn't turn off - not just a drip, but a constant running.

There was a power outage during our evening event (not the hotel's fault - a storm related power outage), and we found out the hard way that there are not any back up generators for the elevators. Luckily I wasn't stuck in the elevator, but several of my co-workers were.

OK for a day conference, but DON'T stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EeyorePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

This place is a DUMP!!!! It is very old and is in desperate need of repair! The bathroom in my room was absolutely disgusting...
I had to go for a work related meeting and our managers were so embarrassed that they had brought us in to this run down type of facility. The lobby is clean but that is the extent of it. I would NEVER EVER stay there again! It was really that bad!

Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
2  Thank sweety1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Roanoke, Virginia
39
Reviewed June 18, 2006

My opinion the hotel is abit over-rated. We stayed 5 nights and each night when I went to bathe it took 1 and half hours for the bathtub to completely drain. The maintenance man tried his best to correct the problem, with only a coat hanger and a commode plunger. Still it didn't cure the problem at all. They offered to move us to another room that had no bathtub only a walk in shower/handicap and we told them we had to have a tub. We then decided to remain in our room. When we went to turn the television off, we couldn't do so, without first cutting the wall switch off which turned the lamps off. There were bare wires showing out from the recepticles with no covers over them. When we went to check out we asked if they could discount our stay because of the trouble we tolerated all during our stay. The desk clerk told me, she wasn't authorized to give any discounts whatever. We told her could we speak to the owner and she informed us/ he was unavailable on weekends and couldn't be reached. She then went to see if she could contact the general manager/ and he couldn't be reached either. We finally told the clerk/ that something had to be done. So she went and spoke to someone in the back office/ and came back and told us they could only discount $25.00 off a $500.00 plus bill. We told them that was a unacceptable. We finally agreed to a 1 day stay plus the $25.00 discount. This hotel is over-rated/and expensive to say the least with much problems.

Stayed: June 2006
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olive Branch hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis Olive Branch
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Olive Branch Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olive Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Olive Branch
Hampton Inn Olive Branch
#5 of 11 in Olive Branch
436 reviews
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#6 of 11 in Olive Branch
107 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Olive Branch
Comfort Suites Olive Branch
#8 of 11 in Olive Branch
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 7300 Hacks Cross Rd, Olive Branch, MS 38654-4454
Location: United States > Mississippi > Olive Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Olive Branch
Price Range: $113 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Whispering Woods Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Woods Hotel And Conference Center
Whispering Woods Hotel Olive Branch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing