We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faith and flavor restored”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vestige

Vestige
Reserve with OpenTable
Vestige is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 144 Restaurants in Ocean Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Vestige ( ˈvestij ) restaurant is a locally-owned Modern American restaurant in beautiful and historic downtown Ocean Springs, MS. Come enjoy a freshly prepared market-driven menu, served in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere. Dinner served Tuesday through Saturday 5:30 P.M - 9:30 P.M. Like us on Facebook/VestigeRestaurant to receive news and offers!
oceaan springs, ms
Level Contributor
123 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Faith and flavor restored”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Last few outings had left me down however July 4th dinner has restored my faith. Food was superb beginning with fresh crab and corn along with a light twist on ceviche. Wife and I ordered snapper with succotash that was expertly prepared and flavorful. Service was exemplary - Alex and crew are back.

Helpful?
1 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Vestige was Phenomenal Tonight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Alex really brought it tonight. Corn and pepper soup as an appetizer. My wife had the fresh gulf red snapper while I had the shrimp and grits. Couldn't stop: dessert was a root beer float for me (but not a shake!-on a plate!), and a fresh fruit tart for her (seasonal blueberries and blackberries)-pure south Mississippi joy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean springs, ms
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The quality of the food is just wonderful and the service is very good. It has been open for 9 months but I only discovered it 6 weeks ago. I have had the best soup of my life there. They change their soup based on available fresh ingredients and the gazpacho (with a hint of mint!) was heavenly. They do not have a large selection but what they have is so well done. If you want excellent food made from local ingredients that is a visual delight as well, go to Vestige.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smckj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for the Coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

First impression. The menu size. This let me know that the chef is focused. Freshness of everything is apparent and better controlled also. The use of seasoning is perfect. You will not get rich over the top flavors here. You get real flavors. I hope local folks latch on to this one. If they don't it is due to our dumbing down perception of what good food really is about.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CulinaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceaan springs, ms
Level Contributor
123 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Miss the mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Mother and I were dissatisfied with shrimp and grits, recent addition to the menu. Grits tasted fine but were mushy, while shrimp and other ingredients did not mesh well. My wife fared better with an Asian flavored, panko encrusted fish.

Overall pleasant atmosphere with attentive service. Kitchen has just got to learn if it is going to tinker with a southern specialty, then result has got to be special.

Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vestige also viewed

 

Been to Vestige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing