We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing Reunion”

Anthony's Under The Oaks
Ranked #9 of 145 Restaurants in Ocean Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dissappointing Reunion”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had visited this place some 25 years ago and loved the food, drinks and atmosphere and were looking forward to reliving our past. We made dinner reservations for Friday at 6:30 and arrived just a few minutes early, only to stand in the entry for 13 minutes without anyone even acknowledging we were there. It was like we were invisible. Finally, a waitress greeted us (I don't guess they have a hostess) and when we said we had reservations she said it would be a few minutes. By then it was already 6:40 so we sat at the bar and ordered drinks and some oysters on the half shell. We got our drinks (mostly ice, three sips and they were gone) but no oysters. We noticed another couple decide to leave after waiting about 20 minutes and should have followed them. At 7:14, 44 minutes after our reservation, we were told our table was ready and when we mentioned the oysters they said they would bring them to our table. We placed our order and the oysters did show up, but they were the smallest I've ever seen. The food was just fair, the crab dressing they place on top of the Stuffed Flounder was too heavy, and I didn't notice any stuffing, the vegetable I don't even remember, the twice baked potatoes were cold (like they had been frozen and not fully heated), the salad was OK and the bread was GREAT, but didn't make up for the slow service and cold potatoes. The Stuffed Flounder really wasn't stuffed, they just poured some sauce (they call it dressing) on top of the Flounder.

This place would be perfect for Robert Irvine and "Restaurant Impossible" to come in and make over. From the kitchen, the wait staff has to bring the food either thru the bar or pass the entrance. The furnishings appeared to be the same as it was on our first visit, 25 years ago,
and the prices are high for what you get.

Overall, very disappointed in our reunion visit, except for the bread! We won't return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wheels1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    27
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Sunset View!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is sort of hidden, it's really not visible from road. Trip advisor is the only way we knew about it. I'm so glad we discovered it though! The oak trees are huge. It makes it a very peaceful place! Beautiful view of sunset over water. Staff was very nice. Steak was delicious as was fried shrimp. Will definitely return to this hidden gem!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved The Oaks”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were so excited to discover this place. The people were the nicest ever. The location is inviting for families. The view made you take a deep breath. The food wasn't the absolute greatest and service was slower. Didn't matter because the experience was just what we wanted.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mearl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean springs ms
2 reviews
“My favorite place to spend an evening eating out”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Food is really hit and miss. Great filet ok ribeye. Wonderful grilled oysters so so crab cakes. Excellent dessert. Cheap coffee. Service is unparrelel and the view...Forget about it!!! Take away the view and the awesome staff and its just another resturaunt. We will continue to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chillinlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi Gulf Coast, Mississippi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, dressy casual, fancy food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A great place for steak and seafood. My husband and I had a fabulous meal with drinks for under $100. The servers know their menu. My filet was grilled a perfect medium rare and my husband had a nice sized filet of fish also perfectly cooked. The view of the bayou was amazing. The only way to get closer is to be on one of the boats! :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FirstMateJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Under The Oaks also viewed

 
Ocean Springs, MS
 

Been to Anthony's Under The Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing