We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheryls”

Cheryl's Open Pit Steak House
Ranked #28 of 144 Restaurants in Ocean Springs
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
kappyfish
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheryls”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A hometown place with good food. Steaks are good, with nice salad. Its not dressy just go as you are. Its the kind of place to go when you want someone else to cook supper and serve it with a smile on their face. You wont be disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kappyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
185 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Down home steak!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Flavorful steak and all of the trimmings! Very informal steak house with quality foood.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan39564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great local steak house”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We just moved into Ocean Springs and was looking for a good Steak. A local recommended Cheryl's for that. We went on Monday and my wife and I had the Filet Mignon. The steaks were cooked perfect, the staff was excellent and answered all of our questions about the area. The restaurant was quiet and we were able to talk without having to shout, like at a big time steak house thats noisy. we were very impressed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Steak, great service.”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have lived in Ocean Springs for many years. This is by far my favorite restaurant. You can get a steak on par with Ruth's for half the price while wearing flip-flops. Wait staff is friendly and prompt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Williams77ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
248 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“a folksy dive with great steak”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

A tourist driving through the area in a mood for steak, I stumble upon this place. You will have to manage you expectation. The place is somewhat of a dive right on the main road in town. The aroma from the grilling was enough to get me into the door. Don't expect Outback decor or Hooter's wait staff. Do expect great, unpretentious steak, friendly staff and family feel to the place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 48Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheryl's Open Pit Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Cheryl's Open Pit Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing