We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eating Like Locals at Mikey's!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mikey's On The Bayou

Mikey's On The Bayou
Ranked #9 of 144 Restaurants in Ocean Springs
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eating Like Locals at Mikey's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our hotel recommended Mikey's as soon as we asked to try local foods. Great idea! It was dusk when we arrived, so the staff (wisely) advised us to eat inside. Our family of four was still able to enjoy the full moon over the boyou as we happily munched our Seafood Bread. We each tried a different local specialty and all were delicious. When our friendly waitress learned that we had never tried crawfish, she immediately came back with a plate of four "mud bugs" to sample. She even showed us how to eat them! Highly recommend for visitors in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun_Prairie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    69
    30
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Muffeletta was really good (just like New Orleans) served with lots of fries. Friendly staff, quick service, clean restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank senior2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Seafood Bread is a must !! This place is off the beaten path but well worth the trip to find it. Dont let the outside fool you. Venture inside and make your way out the back to sit on the deck for some great views of the bayou. Great wait staff, uncrowded and good oysters too !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tr313323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
272 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nice view, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Enjoyed the seafood platter and crab claws appetizer; good price on oysters if you like them. Not much on atmosphere; deck is open air; you can ask for a bayou view inside if you like the ac! Nice servers!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Play, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First visit a hit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I ate at Mikey's On The Bayou for the first time last night, with Bridgett L. being our waitperson. We kept her hopping and she did a great job! We began with the crawfish & jalapeño appetizer, then moved on to the large fried sampler platter, which included fish, shrimp, crab claws & oysters, hushpuppies, salad & baked potato. There was no way we could've eaten it all. It was enough for 4 people! It was all very delicious. Our only complaints are minor and fixable ... the potatoes weren't hot and we could've used a roll of paper towels on the table, which we learned after the fact were available if we had asked! But overall, we can't wait to take our boys to Mikey's!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikey's On The Bayou also viewed

 

Been to Mikey's On The Bayou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing