We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Sunrise Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge - Ocean Springs
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocean Springs
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprise Sunrise Stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am thrilled to write this review! I arrived on Thursday, June 21, 2012 and departed (sadly) Sunday, June 24, 2012. My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay and booked this place at the last minute. One reason we booked this hotel at the last minute is because we got three nights much cheaper here than at other hotels. We are budgeting so this was great! I am also happy to say that we made a good choice. Scrubbing the Coast was going on this weekend and everything was booked up and overpriced. This hotel is just outside of Biloxi which had us away from everything which I didn't mind one bit!!! The desk clerk was pleasant. He greeted us with a smile. He apologized that our room was on the end near the train tracks. Well let me tell you, the train didn't bother us as much as the guests upstairs (our room was downstairs). Because the walls are thin you can hear someone if they are too noisy or walk a little harder than necessary. Aside from that we enjoyed our stay. The king sized bed was so comfortable. The room was beautiful with plenty of lighting. We had a microwave and a fridge. We brought a grill from home and grilled on Friday evening with the approval of the desk clerk. The hotel was very clean. I was happy to see it so neat and tastefully furnished. I am happy to give this propertya 5 star rating because it is just so worth it. The price, the cleanliness, and the friendliness of the staff all deserve fives. If you ever visit the coast and can't afford the high price of the hotels in Biloxi, stay in Ocean Springs at Travelodge-I hope you won't be disappointed =)

Room Tip: Book when the coast isn't so busy =) Request an upstairs room if possible. The train coming thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shesbrownsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirag M, Manager at Travelodge - Ocean Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We thank you for your business and taking time for posting a review on this site. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Travelode Ocean Springs and hope to welcome you back soon again.

Please note that guests can now call, e-mail directly at the number/address listed above our Travelodge photo above,

thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    65
    49
    36
    42
See reviews for
59
88
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

For the rate we paid for this room ($54 per night through Priceline), we have gotten nothing short of awesome value. Of course it doesn't have the pool and all the other amnities of a more expensive hotel, but that's fine with us. The rooms are really clean and the staff is so friendly. We had an issue with our room lock and the manager was there to assist us, and wound up having to move us to a better room. The breakfast ended at 9, and we got down there at about ten and he offered to make us coffee and put out some more food for us. All in all, I'd defiantly recommend this place to someone vacationing on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizRabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirag M, Manager at Travelodge - Ocean Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We thank you for your business and taking time for posting a review on this site. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Travelode Ocean Springs and hope to welcome you back soon again.

Please note that guests can now call, e-mail directly at the number/address listed above our Travelodge photo above,

thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverhill, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A little difficult to find (if you don't follow the map or have gps). But was worth every penny we spent. The room was spotless. SPOTLESS! Even the grout between the tiles in the bathroom was clean. The bed was extra comfortable. Although when we first entered the room, the a/c was off and room was hot, the a/c was able to cool the room down quickly. I read about the paper thin walls in another review, but we couldn't even hear the train noise unless the horn was sounded (hotel is next to train tracks). McElroys is across the busy street, but easy to drive to from the hotel. Quick hop to the casinos in Biloxi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirag M, Manager at Travelodge - Ocean Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We thank you for your business and taking time for posting a review on this site. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Travelode Ocean Springs and hope to welcome you back soon again.

Please note that guests can now call, e-mail directly at the number/address listed above our Travelodge photo above,

thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

After looking at this hotel and reading some reviews I thought that this hotel sounded to good to be true for the price. It of course was. As soon as my friend and I got to our room we opened the door and noticed a musty smell in the room and the window had been left wide open.. The bathroom shower curtain had 3 inches worth of red mold growing on it which we both found to be quite disgusting. To make things worse, when either of us tried to shower the water would not drain and reached our ankles... GROSS! The bathroom floor and shower had hair in it (which was not ours) and the towels had holes in them. To top it all off... at 12:30 and 4:30am we were woken up by the train. I could literally walk out of the room and in less than 20ft walk over the train tracks. The location of the hotel is awful, the rooms was absolutely disgusting, and I will never ever stay at another travel lodge. I find it quite suprising that this hotel has gotten decent reviews from others and that it was suggested by hotwire.com. I hope no one else experiences this where they stay....

Room Tip: bathroom shower curtains have red mold, and the bathroom shower wall and floor have previous guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lstephens6941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chirag M, Manager at Travelodge - Ocean Springs, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your business and for posting a review on this site. We beleive both positive as well as constructive negative comments help us to improve ourselves. We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at our motel.

i believe that air must have not been left on due to which the room smelt a bit musty as humidity plays a major role in summer months. we'll also make sure the curtains are washed regularly for our guests.

We hope you will give us another chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean Springs hotels

Miramar, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2012

we stayed here on 5/18. we reserved a room with 2 queen beds and were pleasanlty surprised with our overall stay. staff was very accomadating and friendly.rooms were very clean, wi-fi worked great in our room and so did everything else. one of the hidden treasures of ocean springs.

highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saving S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirag M, Manager at Travelodge - Ocean Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We thank you for your business and taking time for posting a review on this site. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Travelode Ocean Springs and hope to welcome you back soon again.

Please note that guests can now call, e-mail directly at the number/address listed above our Travelodge photo above,

thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonville
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were surprised with this place being so CLEAN.. It is almost like being in a beach cottage.. ONLY issue is that the walls are paper thin....and they do have a train track right behind you..
Walking distance from Washington Ave which is very nice & the beach was really nice.. Worth the $60.00/night charge.....Bed comfy & people were friendly & would go back again..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madisonvillebabydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chirag M, Manager at Travelodge - Ocean Springs, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
we thank you for your business and positive review and look foward to seeing you again in near future,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

At first glance, Sapphire Inn was a cute Inn in a decent location, though hard to get to . . . at that point, I was willing to give the place a 7 or even 8 out of 10 (Inconvenience of getting to the place while traveling on the opposite side of the highway and lack of amenities such as a pool, breakfast, etc. initially caused such a rating.) However, everything that I went through there after checking in quickly made the rating fluctuate.
The Room was clean, which was nice, but very “closed in” feeling (I had a single king sized bed room), as the room was quite small and the furniture and fixtures were very overbearing. There were no ceiling lights, only a light on the wall which was hidden behind a very tall tv cabinet/dresser and 3 lamps . . . all of which you had to fumble with in order to finally get to turn on. The windows upstairs where I was lacked blinds (which downstairs had), so you got the choice of showing your room off to everyone or sitting in the darkness. The door leading outside had a broken chain lock, and the oversized bathroom door hit against the toilet every time it was opened or closed… that is if you managed to squeeze between the toilet and the tub every time you went to open or close it. The tv in the room was nice, but rather small and its controller was held together with a piece of packing tape… apparently people are stealing the backs off controllers these days… The alarm clock/radio was nifty for listening to music while doing other things . . . but don’t plan on being able to turn it off without beating it to death. The room had a microwave, fridge, and coffee pot. 1 out of 3 of those actually functioned properly. The bed was hard and felt like sleeping on a crib mattress (waterproof mattress pad on it), but either out of sheer tiredness or the fact that it was semi comfortable, I managed to get a decent nights sleep. … That is if one doesn’t count the loud trains that rattle the entire place at all hours of the day and night and “Housekeeping” who woke me up at 10AM…
And as a very important note: If internet availability and usage means anything to you, you might not want to choose Sapphire. Both me and the person I was with had no luck staying on the internet for longer than 10 minutes at a time before it kicked us off, and while we were on it, it was very slow. We had full bars, but something just wasn’t right with it. The staff was alerted of the problem and they said that they would fix it… but many frustrating hours later, it still didn’t work properly.

But, as I said, I give it a 4 out of 10 . . . because I have spent nights in places which were SO much worse.

Room Tip: For 2 people, even if you don't normally sleep together, the spacious king sized bed provides pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecillia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chirag M, Manager at Travelodge - Ocean Springs, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your business and for posting a review on this site. We believe both positive as well as constructive negative comments help us to improve ourselves. We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at our establishment.

we have now corrected issues like wi-fi services, changing old remote controls and alarm clocks to new ones in almost all the rooms. our property is going thru a transition from being a sapphire inn to a Travelodge Ocean Springs.

We are glad, however, that you liked the cleanliness of our motel.

once again. we thank you for your business and taking time for posting a review on this site.

the Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Springs
2.7 mi away
Studio 6 Ocean Springs
Studio 6 Ocean Springs
#4 of 9 in Ocean Springs
49 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Biloxi
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Biloxi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Motel 6 Biloxi/Ocean Springs
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Ocean Springs
Days Inn Ocean Springs
#6 of 9 in Ocean Springs
173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palace Casino Resort
Palace Casino Resort
#3 of 47 in Biloxi
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge - Ocean Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge - Ocean Springs

Property: Travelodge - Ocean Springs
Address: 500 Bienville Blvd, Ocean Springs, MS 39564 (Formerly Sapphire Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Ocean Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocean Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge - Ocean Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge - Ocean Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Ocean Springs
Ocean Springs Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing