We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright cottage!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Front Beach Cottages
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bright cottage!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed in the Lagniappe cottage, which was a pleasant surprise: a bright, modern interior and quite spatious. the guide including personal restaurant reviews was very helpful! Unfortunately, it was raining during my stay, but still it was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MD76_ASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My 2 sons, ages 8 & 11, and I spent the weekend in Bellande Cottage at Front Beach Cottages, and we loved it! It is a very short walk to the beach and a beautiful park, and it is a very short walk to several terrific places to eat as well! They provided bikes for us to use, and the cottage was beautiful, inviting and had everything we needed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casciofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The cottage is not insulated so the room temp was unbearable. The owner added a second air conditioning unit which did not help much. The coolest the room got was 81 in the middle of the night. Would not stay there again because of the heat.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, Owner at Front Beach Cottages, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Since you visited us at the beginning of August, we have completely upgraded the HVAC system in the Cabana. We have installed a brand new mini-split system that keeps the Cabana ultra cool in during the hot Mississippi summers. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this visit, but we can only respond to issues we know about. We certainly would have moved you to another cottage had we known you were uncomfortable. Thank you for the feedback. Cathy & Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
235 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently stayed in the Key West Cabana. It is small, but has all the comforts that one might need away from home. It's amazing what can be fit inside a small space!! The fixtures are all first rate, and the decor is really cute and tastefully done. Cathy and Jason are wonderful hosts!!! I don't understand why anyone would want to stay in a motel when there are places like this available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruiser9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We LOVED our stay in Front Beach Cottage!! Its within walking/biking distance from the beach AND downtown. Bikes and kayaks are provided. For a family of four, Bellande Cottage was GREAT! The décor and atmosphere was wonderful. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They put a lot of love and hard work into their business! We were even able to park our boat there during our stay. The newly remodeled Bellande Cottage was absolutely adorable. The beds and sheets were Very comfortable! We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back.
We were able to view the single cottage, also, and it was very nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The town itself is great. Beautiful views and trees. The cabana was small, but that's what we were looking for. Great area outdoors. Wonderful bed. The kitchen had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable. I would definitely return! The only negative thing I could say about the stay was it was very hot when we arrived and took a several hours to cool down. This made unpacking a little more of a task but we just drove across the bridge to margaritaville to enjoy a few drinks and the great view there. We had a wonderful stay. Thank you. Also, thank you for the bottle of wine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights in the Lagniappe cottage recently and it is a beautiful, romantic little getaway. The owners have obviously put a lot of love and energy into providing their guest with a top-notch accommodation. The high end fixtures and glass tiled dual head shower in the bathroom was a highlight. They leave you wanting nothing... on the inside. I was a little disappointed with the exterior. The parking seems to be on a first come, first serve basis and at one point there seemed to me to be seven cars for only a three cottage lot. It is a bit tight, but do-able I guess. Also, I loved the little outdoor patio they provided but was a bit afraid to use it since I encountered more large and intimidating spiders than I cared to. The greenery surrounding the cottage seems to be enveloping the steps and doorway. I understand it was a very warm and wet July in Mississippi and that sort of thing should be considered.
I commend the owners on being "green" and using clean runoff water for gardening and providing recyclable containers. More establishments should use their model.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, even though the weather didn't permit us much beachtime at all. Ocean Springs is a very nice, friendly community.

Green Features: Recycling provided. Uses clean waste water to water gardens. More establishments should model after Beach Front Cottages.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g_locks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBMackenzie, Owner at Front Beach Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for giving us your feedback and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Lagniappe Cottage. Yes, the unusually rainy spell we've had has resulted in extremely lush landscaping. We are trimming and pruning regularly between downpours! We have been very busy this summer and some of our guests have arrived in multiple vehicles, thus the higher number of vehicles. We have parking for 6 guest vehicles located throughout the property and we have some more signage on order to help with the overflow. Again, thanks for staying at Front Beach Cottages. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Cathy & Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Springs
5.1 mi away
White House Hotel
White House Hotel
#2 of 47 in Biloxi
825 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Biloxi
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Biloxi- Ocean Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
IP Casino Resort Spa - Biloxi
3.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Biloxi
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Ocean Springs
The Inn at Ocean Springs
#2 of 5 in Ocean Springs
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Front Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Beach Cottages

Property: Front Beach Cottages
Address: 207 Dewey Ave, Ocean Springs, MS 39564-4927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Ocean Springs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front Beach Cottages is a coastal inn offering 3 cozy, self-contained cottages nestled beneath the oaks in downtown Ocean Springs, just a block and a half from Front Beach and 3 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing