We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potato dough dough nuts! "Simply the Best"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tatonut Shop

The Tatonut Shop
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Ocean Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Potato dough dough nuts! "Simply the Best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

If your in Ocean Springs a must to try!! This is a family run business that has been in operation for years. Little has changed in the recipe, which is why they draw such a crowd everyday. Get there early because they sell out quick. Their heart is in there donuts!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CuriousSouthernChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    43
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A MUST have in downtown Ocean Springs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

No matter what your opinion of donuts, Tato Nut's are the best! A family owned and operated business, you will likely see the owners when you pop in for your Persian…a cinnamon creation that is hard to pass up any time I am downtown. My children love to pop in for treats when they have a day off….some of their favorites are the seasonal offerings, the chocolate glazed, the sprinkles and anything with their exquisite glaze…stop in for a cup of fresh coffee and the best donut you might ever get….a sure shopping pick me up to keep you cheery while you discover your next treasure ..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crzymnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
217 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Best donuts in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

If you're from the coast to live in Ocean Springs you know what tatonut is. They are literally the crack cocaine of donuts. Just as addictive and probably in the end just as bad for you but they are completely delicious ridiculously so. This place is been owned by the Moeller family for at least 30 or 40 years at this location. I believe they are closed on Sundays and Mondays which is a pain in the butt. The donuts themselves are made from potato flour which gives them a real fluffy and tasty flavor so what I can to Krispy Kreme but just a little bit different and better. They are ridiculously popular and often sell out of all donuts by 1030 or 11 o'clock so if you are going to eat there I recommend you plan on going by and getting your donuts before 1030 am. If you don't like these donuts then your taste spuds have been damaged by some strange scientific experiment or your brain but that's okay it just leaves more for the rest of us. I have literally no people to drive from Mobile to Ocean Springs just to get these donuts they are that good. The chocolate covered donuts on my kids favorites and I've always loved the applesauce and blueberry cake like donuts as well. The twisty donuts are also really really good. Not something you want to eat every day and your wife I've hundred pounds but if you want donuts in your close by these are the undisputed king of donuts in the Mississippi Gulf Coast.

Helpful?
Thank Jackfish28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love Tatonut!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love the variety of assorted donuts. The downtown location is great to grab a donut and coffee. Then walk around the shops and enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascagoula, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Love at first bite!! So good and so affordable!! A friend took us there to show us around town and honestly it was some of the best doughnuts I've ever had!!

Helpful?
Thank JRMedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tatonut Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Tatonut Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing