We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast”
Review of Phoenicia Gourmet

Phoenicia Gourmet
Ranked #7 of 146 Restaurants in Ocean Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Somerville, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We ate here initially because it was provided with our room at "The Inn". Needless to say the breakfast "special" is very good. We had the pancakes, eggs, and asiago grits (they are to die for).....We will definitely try their dinner next time we are in town. I love Greek food anyway

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bhwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    63
    38
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
192 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great mediterranean lunch”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Reading the reviews made my mouth water and I was not disappointed. Excellent crab & artichoke soup. I could have this as my main meal, it is very filling. Very meaty and the artichokes were great tasting.
The beef schwarma dinner was very tender and the rice was excellent. The tabbouleh was very good also. I highly recommend this restaurant if you're in the mood for great Mediterranean food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible Management, Bad Food”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It happens - ordered a fish dish and the fish was bad..really bad. The very unpleasant hostess came to the table and said "whew, I can smell it from here".

My friends continued with their meals - none of them 'happy' with their selection and I decided to just pass and enjoy visiting with friends.

While there ANOTHER guest sent back Fish dish. They were still pushing the 'bad' fish.

NO Apology for serving bad food or for the horrible smell that remained at our table.

When I asked to speak to the mgr. Sam, who was standing at the front door - the hostess walked up to him, he walked out, she returned and said he had left for the day.

Check arrives and I'm charged $7.95 for the side salad that came with the BAD FISH lunch that I didn't eat - hostess said manager said I ate most of the salad and "spinach is not free" and I was also charged about $2 for a cup of coffee.

I paid for the coffee and refused to pay for a half eaten salad - my agreement was for a full meal. The hostess said "I'll probably lose my job for this". She's been there for years - She and Sam are obviously on desperate times and their guests are getting the worst for it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knowinaintdoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal...friendly staff!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place for a nice breakfast, lunch or dinner. You really can't go wrong at any meal. Service is fast and friendly. This is definitely my new favorite breakfast spot in town!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kristynl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Artichoke/Crab Soup”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband had a late lunch here and were told by one of the local merchants to have the artichoke/crab soup and were not disappointed. It was wonderful. We also ordered an appetizer of coconut shrimp that came with two wonderful dipping sauces. The hummus and pita plate they automatically bring to your table was a welcome surprise. When we are next in the area we will return to this restaurant. My suggestion is to order only the cup which would have been a bowl anywhere else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharlyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenicia Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Phoenicia Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing