We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Locally owned”

Zack Garvin's Original Steak House
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Newton
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Decatur, MS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Locally owned”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Zach's is locally owned and you always get a warm friendly greeting. The dining area has the same warm and friendly atmosphere. A great place for a night out. Service is attentive and food is delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank revbtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's a bit high but worth it. LOVE their appetizers. The friend green tomatoes are INCREDIBLE. The steaks are INCREDIBLE. . Desserts are INCREDIBLE. !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank arabianfancycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
320 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Go early and bring your appetite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

With only 20 tables, Zacks fills up quickly - especially when a local homecoming match is rained out... My parents and I waited about 35 minutes for a table (spot on the estimate when our name went on the list). Once seated, service was good and the food - as always - was great. Plenty of salad and bread, well-aged angus steaks perfectly cooked, and generously sized sides. We were stuffed when we left, and still had enough steak left for two breakfasts. Well worth a visit or, if you're in a hurry, get it to go.

P.s., once you are seated, service is quick but you don't feel rushed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank huggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Mississippi
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

My family enjoys Zack Garvins at least once a month. It's a great family atmosphere or cozy enough for a nice couples night out. Best Steak in Central Mississippi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shasta Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best kept secret in Mississippi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I love steak. Through the years, I've developed a marinade/grilling method that I absolutely love; the result being that I'm very often unsatisfied with restaurant steaks (and I've had some of the best any city that I've visited has to offer). Zack Garvin's, located in a tiny little town in the middle of Mississippi is one of only two restaurants that I can say I prefer their steak to mine.

The meat is consistently cooked to perfection, the appetizers are incredible (their blooming onion puts Outback's to shame), and the "extras" are very good as well. In particular, along with the mini-loaf of fresh rye, you'll be presented with a sweet strawberried butter spread that's an amazing flavor addition to the bread. Salad is brought to the table in a large bowl for distribution to those in your party.

The wait staff is pleasant and accommodating, and though there is frequently a wait for seating on the weekend evenings when they're open, it's seldom longer than 10-15 minutes. Great place to find a great steak if you're moving through the area on any Thursday, Friday, or Saturday evening.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CooterBrwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zack Garvin's Original Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Zack Garvin's Original Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing