We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New Albany
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Albany
Hunstville Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We reserved two rooms for two nights - rooms 200 and 202. Each room had horribly stained carpet (see picture), a disgusting smell and the bathrooms were very poorly cleaned. To stair wells were so dirty your shoes would stick to the steps and the elevator was filthy. In addition the internet connection worked sporadically.
The final indignity is the view out the dirty window of garbage and air conditioning units.

I cannot believe Holiday Inn allows their brand name to be associated with this establishment.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monicaharrigill, Owner at Holiday Inn Express New Albany, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I must apologize for the poor performance of our staff during our renovation and addition. I assure you, we have addressed the issues you pointed out and have the commitment of our staff to be more diligent in cleaning the areas regardless of the construction next to the hotel. If you are in the area again please contact me so we can make it up to you. My direct email is sunny.sethi@jackiesinternational.com.

Thanks,

Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
39
19
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel was under renovation when we stayed. The pool was gone, the ice makers were all off and moved outside, and the driveway under the awning was in the middle of being replaced. It wasn't noisy, but the side entrance wasn't secure and the hallway was extremely hot from the door being open a lot. With that being said, the room was wonderful and spacious. It had one of the best beds I've slept in. The breakfast was great and the attendant was excellent. It is close to a Baskin Robbins, Wal-Mart, various restaurants, and a hospital. Once this place is renovated it will be excellent. There's really nothing in New Albany, but it was a nice place to stop on the way to Florida.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stay across at the Hampton or go to Tupelo, MS if you want a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere, smells like smoke, halls dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maid_marr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monicaharrigill, Owner at Holiday Inn Express New Albany, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Maid_marr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I must apologize for the poor performance during our renovation and addition. Unfortunatly, we were in the process of building a new pool (with a large sun deck) and a new fitness room at the time of your stay. We have since opened the pool and have a temporary fitness room in place. If you pass through the area anytime in the future and would consider giving us another shot, we would love to make it up to you! Feel free to contact me directly by email - sunny.sethi@jackiesinternational.com.

Respectfully,

Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I was on my way to Memphis from a long day of meetings - just got too tired to make it the last hour and ten minutes. I saw several signs advertising this Hampton so I pulled in. It had to be new because the decor was very up-to-date and fresh. The young man at the counter had a southern charm you just can't teach. The room was fresh and smelled great, and I loved the breakfast bagel and coffee. Quite the jewel in the middle of the country!

Room Tip: Just ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTravelerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Smell of smoke terrible in hall and elevator of 3rd floor. Other reviews warned of remodeling and it is a long way from being done. Location good for overnight stay. Staff were kind and helpful. They should hire a new contractor for remodel. It is taking too long and not great work. Our room was clean but still wasn't finished painting or all of the furniture. Carpet was ok but had lumpy pad by door. Just not quality but for the price it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trytobepostive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, AL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This is a small hotel with average amenities but probably the nicest hotel in New Albany. The staff was very helpful, going out of their way to make us welcome and ensure that everything in our room was satisfactory. They do have a pool but it is a small one and is located at the front of the hotel. In my opinion, not the best place to build a pool. We were only there overnight, but it was a pleasant stay with a decent breakfast included.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ned-N-Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Do not stay here. This place was built in the 1970s and has been updated very poorly.. The carpet appears to be original from all the stains. The a/c unit couldn't cool the room efficiently, and the bathroom shower appeared to be tiled by a small child. This place was a joke. Not your typical new Holiday Inn Express you've come to expect. Dirty, nasty, and flat out unacceptable. There were also some questionable individuals hanging out in the lobby.
The elevator was broke, the red paint on the walls was also on the white ceiling, the toilet was loose from the floor, etc. I could go on.. There is a brand new Hampton Inn across the interstate. Stay there. It's worth the extra $15.. I promise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank good8460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Albany
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Albany
Hampton Inn New Albany
#1 of 3 in New Albany
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Best Western New Albany
#2 of 3 in New Albany
39 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tupelo North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Tupelo Inn & Suites
18.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tupelo
16.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ripley
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New Albany

Property: Holiday Inn Express New Albany
Address: 300 State Highway 30 W, New Albany, MS 38652-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > New Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express New Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express New Albany. Minutes from downtown New Albany, travelers appreciate how our atmosphere makes comfort and convenience a top priority. This three story, interior corridor hotel features 75 guestrooms (5 two room suites), fitness center, business center, an outdoor pool and the new Express Start Hot Breakfast Bar. Only 32 miles from Tupelo Regional Airport and 80 miles from Memphis International Airport. We are located off Highway 78 (exit 61) the main artery between Tupelo, MS and Memphis, TN. Visit New Albany, MS and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New Albany Hotel New Albany
Holiday Inn New Albany
New Albany Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing