We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, poor staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn New Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Albany
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, poor staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was excited to see a new Hampton Inn at New Albany, MS. The hotel was great--relatively new. Rooms were nice. Should be a five star rating but the front desk staff made it not so good. Check in--good. Wish I had her name (checked in on 6/21/13) but while not great, it was good. As a Diamond Honors member, you t used to acknowledgement of that status, but that's okay. Anyway, the room--really nice. Felt new. And it was clean. But the next day, the front desk clerk, Lisa--I overheard her say that was her name, no name tag---spent over an hour on the phone with something personal, then spent over an hour and 45 minutes visiting with her friend who came in. I was working in the lobby and this was very distracting! Not to mention it doesn't look good for a hotel to have that happening. When we checked out on 6/23, she was typing a personal letter on the computer from a handwritten one and had little time to even ask if our room was okay. I'm surprised management would allow this unprofessional behavior at the front desk of a hotel that has a lot of potential. Would it keep me from staying there again? No--the upside made up for this but I would go in with no expectation of good customer service, especially if Lisa is working. The outside patio from the pool--a huge plus--it was great sitting out there. The breakfast room worker (wish I had her name) worked the hardest of any staff we saw working. Great job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barb d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    95
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
161
76
19
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olive Branch, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

clean rooms, friendly staff, and felt safe comining and going at odd hours. The only issue I had was that the house keeper knocked on my door, and called the room, despite the fact that I had the "Do Not Disturb" sign out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Room was pretty and very clean.
Staf was very friendly.
Breakfast was very good, enough to chose from and good taste.
Bed was very comfortable.
Only minor was that the hotel was hard to find with gps because it didn't find the coulter cove but the coulter drive. And this is 1/2 mile away from coulter cove.
We have a new Tom Tom so dat should not be the problem.
I would stay here again any time and recommend it to everybody.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have never reviewed a hotel....but this one gets my time. Without a doubt the cleanest hotel I have stayed in. We were staying on the way home from vacation and it was just perfect. Nice staff....ultra clean rooms. Felt very safe. My only (and truly..it's my only) complaint is the internet speed. Very very slow but that could have just been the night. Wouldn't let it stop me from staying again. They are doing it right at this location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is one of my favorite Hampton Inn locations. There’s not a whole lot happening in New Albany, MS. However, I stayed there a more than I did at home for business over six months. I was not impressed with the fitness center, but that is my opinion of most Hampton Inns. This particular Hampton was a home away from home and that is because of the superior staff. I came to know all the staff by name and enjoyed seeing them, talking with them and visiting with them every day. I haven’t been there for some time and I hope they are happy and healthy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdandersonsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

, We've stayed at Hampton Inn several times and just keep returning; like visiting an old friend! We feel comfortable and at home there. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and the staff are top notch. Anything you want or need; they will do their best to accommodate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was pleased with the overal experience. I had difficulty with the internet. There needs to be a sign on the city streets directing access to the hotel. The clerks were very nice. The rooms were clean and fresh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kiely Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Albany
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Albany
23.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tupelo Inn & Suites
23.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tupelo North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tupelo/Barnes Crossing
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in New Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
16.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Pontotoc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Albany

Property: Hampton Inn New Albany
Address: 320 Coulter CV, Canton GA, New Albany, MS 38652-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > New Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn New Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing