We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean. Wireless Not In Every Room. Got Food Poisoning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Moss Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Moss Point
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Moss Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean. Wireless Not In Every Room. Got Food Poisoning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Well, I can tell you the room was very clean and had enough room for four of us. However, we were in the last room in one of the wings and could not pick up the Holiday Inn wireless signal. The kids were not happy with this. The breakfast the next morning was good (as usual for a Holiday Inn), but I am sure I got food poisoning from the eggs. I was sick as a dog about 9 hours after we left (we were on our way to Florida, stopping here to cut the trip down).

So, nice room; no wireless, stay away from the eggs.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bphpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Moss Point, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear bphpsu,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
16
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, clean comfortable rooms. What more can you ask for. One of the best Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed in.
A lot of full service hotels could learn a lot from this place.
Great service from the lady who takes care of the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruzercapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I really hesitate to give this place anything but a complete thumbs up, but I think it must be stated up front that it seemed to me it was built and appointed specifically for long term residence by workers off the Gulf Coast. Travelers passing through or short term visitors seemed to be in the minority. This is not to say that the guests who were there long term were anything but very nice. I just think it is a fact that needs to be stated.

This can be an advantage. Our room had a wet bar and a very spacious counter and lots of space. The guest laundry is huge. It is the biggest we've ever seen in a hotel.

It can be a disadvantage. Their schedule might not sync with yours. An early breakfast can be busier than you think. The price may seem higher than the area warrants, but I think it can be connected to what they know they can get from whatever company with whom they contract. We've come across this phenomenon elsewhere.

But the breakfast is good. The front desk was extremely nice. The room was clean and well stocked. The beds were comfortable. There was a restaurant (Mexican) right across from the parking lot.

Room Tip: This is a busy place where residents don't have traditional hours. A room away from elevators m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shea1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My work is all travel and I've stayed in many hotels over the years. This is the first one I've given a 5 star rating. The reason I gave the Holiday Inn Express Moss Point such a high rating is simple, I have absolutely no complaints. During my almost one month stay my sleep was never disturbed, the room was always cleaned properly (thanks Sarah!) and they went above and beyond for breakfast. Breakfast officially starts at 6 AM, same time I have to be on the job, but a full breakfast was always prepared before 5 AM, and the girl that usually attended the breakfast bar was on top of things. She always greeted me and made sure I had everything I needed. Their staff is the best I've encountered.

Room Tip: The hotel is off the highway so all rooms should be far enough away from road noise. Some rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Back in December I had stayed at an HIE in North Jackson and I was about to give this location sterling reviews. After all, the side door in proximity to my room at the end if the hall actually worked! Imagine that. Not one but BOTH elevators worked. The famous HIE pancake maker worked. These features were missing on my extended stay at that location and I was thrilled to have them for my extended stay on the Mississippi Gulf Coast. But, really, those features should be assumed.

What was not to like about the HIE Moss Point.
1) First impression. The second floor hallway had an absolutely over-powering odor of what turned out to be the bath soap. Imagine Ivory soap with a hint of pine and turn that pleasant clean sent up 100 fold. It provoked head aches and nausea. Like most foul odor memories, I still gag when I think back on my first whiff. They don't want you to use cologne and perfume in the workplace these days. Surely this has got to go as well. Over the course of a few days it faded, perhaps the year's shipment of bathroom comp's just arrived.

2) No cell phone reception. This is becoming a deal breaker for me. Just a call back home to the wife to tell her to call back is billed like an overseas call to Kabul. So there is the nightly sight of phone callers and smokers prowling around the side entrances. I got four bars driving past the Motel 6 around the bend, but I had to wait for the wind to blow right to get a bar or two to text the wife and kids poolside.

3) Pruritus. I don't know if it was due to taking the nightly phone call dip in the hot tub or whether my room had bed bugs but I was soon afflicted with itchy bumps on my arms and legs. Hint - Gold Bond Lotion with Menthol relieves the Pruritus enough to get a few hours of sleep.

4) Location - hard to get out when a fleet of Trucks from the next door Pilot is headed out. It is on the Mississippi Gulf Coast and it is closer to Biloxi than, say, Bangor, but not by much.

5) Front desk service - nothing all that bad, but I didn't need much but a pen to sign in. One day I saw a blinking light on the phone indicating a missed call from the wife. The access number was not printed on the face of the phone, so I called down to ask directions. The front desk guy did not know. C'mon, man. To his credit, he called back in 5 minutes with the answer but....c'mon, man.

6) Price - I think it has the highest price "in the block" - the cluster of chains off the exit. It should not command that price with the problems I listed.

Bottom line - you would probably enjoy a stay here. But I expect more for my money these days.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bbarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Moss Point, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Bbarre,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the cellphone reception will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We like to stay at Holiday Inn Express properties in general, but this hotel was way above and beyond! We were greeted by a pleasant, friendly, and professional concierge, who gave us a 'goody bag' for being Priority Club members. He was helpful in directing us for dining establishments, and even called us after check in to make sure our room was satisfactory. The room was immaculate, nicely decorated, and gave a fresh appearance. The bed and bedding was comfortable and inviting. The breakfast was delicious, with lots of choices. The server was attentive and friendly without hovering. We felt spoiled! We were just passing through, but I wish we could have stayed longer!
Thank You , Holiday Inn Express!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having stayed in several Holiday Inn Expresses while traveling on business, I expected a clean, efficient hotel with just the basics necessary for a quick stop. I stayed here on the way to and from a reunion and found the hotel to have all the amenities necessary for the quick stops. But the bonus is the staff - everyone was warm, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is good - plenty to eat and fuel up for the road. Easy to reach from the interstate, only a few miles from town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntNeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moss Point hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Moss Point
Comfort Inn Moss Point
#3 of 9 in Moss Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Moss Point
Hampton Inn Moss Point
#1 of 9 in Moss Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flagship Inn
BEST WESTERN Flagship Inn
#2 of 9 in Moss Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shular Inn
Shular Inn
#4 of 9 in Moss Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Moss Point
Quality Inn Moss Point
#7 of 9 in Moss Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Moss Point - Pascagoula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Moss Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Moss Point

Property: Holiday Inn Express Moss Point
Address: 4800 Amoco Drive, Moss Point, MS 39563
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Moss Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Moss Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Moss Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pascagoula-Moss Point is located 1/4 mile South of I-10 at exit 69 on Highway 63. Our Hotel is 100% non-smoking facility and has extra large rooms that are appointed with refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, and wet bar. We also have extended stay apartments with two burner stove and private bedroom. Rooms with large Jacuzzi are available for a romantic getaway. Join us each morning for our free breakfast bar which includes fresh baked cinnamon rolls & biscuits, hard boiled eggs, 4 kinds of juice, fresh fruit, fresh danish and Holiday Inn Express award winning Smart Roast Coffee Area restaurants include: Cracker Barrel, Ruby Tuesday, S&S Steakhouse Wendy's, Burger King, McDonald's, Hardee's, KFC, and Tay's Bar-B-Que. Our location is less than 5 miles from Navel Station Pascagoula, Northrop Grumman Ship Systems (formally Ingalls shipyard) & Chevron Refinery makes us the perfect choice for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Moss Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Moss Point Hotel Moss Point
Holiday Inn Moss Point
Moss Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing