We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and historic but a terrible location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dentzel Carousel

The Dentzel Carousel
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historic but a terrible location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I love carousel and feel that it's history and unique beauty is a treat. But frankly I do not go to highland park any longer due to the declining neighborhood and the increasing crime. It's a shame to see such a lovely place being neglected.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank honey9091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    12
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A old carousel that's in a very bad part of town.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

If your thinking about going. Then go in middle of the day. Crime is very high back drop is the ghetto, women shouldn't go there at all by themselves at all!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mdmiller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You don't want to be in this neighborhood.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

There are too many shootings and gang members in the park. It use to be a nice facility to take the kids but not now. Stay away!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LRoberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful 100+ year old carousel, rides only $0.50”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

After lunch at Weidmann's, we made the short 2 mile drive to the carousel in Highland Park. Note that the carousel is open from 1-5 pm daily in June and July, weekends in spring and fall, and Saturdays only in winter. The hand carved carousel animals are beautiful! Rides are only 50 cents, and well worth the short drive from downtown or the interstate if you are traveling through the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SCFamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best part of our Winter in the South”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I visit Meridian very often and this past March we decided we would go to see the Carousel. We couldn't find it in the park so I asked two gentlemen sitting in the big gazebo where the carousel was and they said it was closed. Another gentleman in a car drove up beside us and asked if he could help us. We said that we had been looking for the carousel, but that it was closed. He said "follow me" Being in the neighborhood that it is we where a little concerned, but decided that we would....he took us to the building that houses the carousel and he introduced himself to us and that he was the curator.We where given the history of the carousel and then we where asked if we would like a ride. Well the Kid in us sure did want a ride. We where absolutely thrilled by this....and thank you to Brandon....we will be back when we are in Meridian this winter....sure worth the time to see....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dentzel Carousel also viewed

 

Been to The Dentzel Carousel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing