We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for a motel 6”
Review of Motel 9

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 9
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Meridian
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced for a motel 6”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This motel 6 is overpriced, runs come out to be $50 with tax! $45.99. Before tax, there's no reason I should be charging over $35.99 the floors are some kind of cheap a laminate wood they are dirty, I don't think they have ever replace the toilet seat! Very old style TV that is very small! It looks like housekeeping puts way too much water on the floors you can tell they're not going to last very long. But the positive is the beds are very comfy and firm I wouldn't hesitate to say they're not too old. Maybe a year or two. Parking lot is not very well lit but didn't have any issues.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cbpilotcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    11
    9
    9
See reviews for
4
9
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

It is what it is. An inexpensive motel that's good for a night's crash. Pros: Bed was comfy & warm, clean room, clean bathroom, friendly staff. Cons: No amenities, minimal & small towels, older TV with minimum channels. Overall I was pleased. I prefer a bit more from my hotel, but you get what you pay for. If you're stopping through for the night or don't demand much then this place is great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunson
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Would not recommend staying here. We were simply after a place to rest our heads on the way home from Texas. Just needed something clean and comfy. Bathroom was the cleanest part of the room. The flooring is a faux wood and had a dirty residue, like it was mopped with dirty water. The bed was hard and extremely cheap. Don't mind not having any ameneties, but sure wouldn''t mind something being clean and somewhat comfy! The interstate is literally in the front door of check in and even though we were towards the back the highway noise was awful. The walls were paper thin and I could hear all conversations (whether normal tone or louder).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farmgirllulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 9, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Farmgirllulu - Thank you for sharing your review. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant stay you experienced as a result of the floor cleanliness, noise level and bed comfort issues you encountered. These issues are certainly not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Meridian hotels

Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

this motel was not will maintained. the only thing good about it, is the bathroom was recently redone. very few tv channels. towels were no larger than a hand towel. the bed was extremely hard. there were roaches

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We needed a place for just a couple of hours, while we were en-route to New Orleans. The front desk staff was friendly, though she left me with "If you need anything, dial "0" for the operator - we have security" as if she was preparing me for something.

Though we never needed security, I really couldn't tell if our door (106) was ever secured with the built in dead-bolt. Really do not know....

Either way, we walked in .(,...and they left the light-on) we were greeted with about the smallest room ever. Wood laminate flooring through out (even the bathroom), miami fashioned bedding, an old tube TV from way back. The bathroom had a built in stand-up shower, and it worked and did it's job just fine.

My only REAL complaint was the flooring, as we were awoken by the people on the 2nd floor getting in even later than ourselves, and we had to listen to them get settled in - just as we did.

I would stay there again, but would need a 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor and facing away from the interstate, if you want any kind of quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrk2hrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saucier, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here many times for work. I have also stayed at everyother hotel in the area within $20 of the same price and none of them are any better( save the $20 if on a budget). Room was not dirty just kind of a cheap motel 6. Nothing less and nothing more. Internet is $2.99 but seemed to work well. Walk in shower was nice and in basically new condition.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sndsoulellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The floors were faux wood (not carpet) and your feet get black. There was a bad leak under sink and loud horn noise in fawcette. There is no longer a hard walled shower door but now a thick vinyl curtain which makes water run all over the floor around the toilet. Window AC extremely loud but dampened highway noise. Office attendant very nice and bed OK and lighting good. Coffee good in morning. After this room reinovation I am considering finding another inexpensive brand of motel. This room condition/function/materials was awful.

Room Tip: Ask about the flooring material and get a room on the side away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meridian hotels
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Meridian
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Meridian
Red Roof Inn Meridian
#17 of 30 in Meridian
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Meridian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Meridian
Rodeway Inn Meridian
#5 of 30 in Meridian
101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 30 in Meridian
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Meridian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 9

Property: Motel 9
Address: 2309 S Frontage Rd, Meridian, MS 39301-6542 (Formerly Motel 6 Meridian)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Meridian
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Meridian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 9 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Motel-6, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing