We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Food and No Change”
Review of Georgia Blue

Georgia Blue
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Do not pay in cash at the Madison location because they will not give you exact change. While this may seem petty, it truly shows how a business operates. When we questioned our waitress about the incorrect change, she became defensive and rude. She told us that they don't carry change so they just keep the change. We told her that we were saving the business money by paying with cash instead of a credit card. Not to mention, the food was awful. The biscuit was burned, and the chicken had barely any meat in it...it was all breading. Anyway, we will not be eating at Georgia Blue anymore because their business practices are questionable and the food is subpar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MississippiRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia B, Manager at Georgia Blue, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

This is absolutely not our policy. If this was our policy, you would have heard about it before now after being open for 3 years. No business could operate this way. Our policy is to over give change, so if it is $15.60 we give $16.00. In fact, part of the server's uniform is specifically designed for change which they show to the manager at the end of their shift. If something this serious happens, ask for the manager and it will be taken care of instantly. We do not tolerate this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 212 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have consistently had a great experience at this restaurant. Food is always delicious. Waiters are always friendly. Portions are big. Atmosphere is fun. The only negative is they don't pour much wine in your glass. Other than that, it's great. It's our Regal Beagle.

Thank ddot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia B, Manager at Georgia Blue, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

So glad you enjoyed everything! A little explanation on the wine, our glasses are 25 oz and can actually fit an entire bottle of wine in them, so if it seems like it's a small amount, it's because the glass can fit 25 oz and the standard pour for a restaurant is 5-6 oz. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Top notch all the way. Great menu; great food; great service. The only recommendation I would make is to add gumbo to the menu.

Thank Bobkido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia B, Manager at Georgia Blue, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks for the review and suggestion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited Georgia Blue Flowood location based on tripadvisor reviews. Chargrilled oysters were poor at best ... way overcooked. Ahi tuna was okay ... the tuna itself was very good quality ... the prep was sub par. Bayou Catfish ... let's just say I ate one filet and wanted to carry it back to the kitchen and s/w the chef myself. The pieces of crawfish in the sauce had a better flavor. They claim to use Heartland (Mississippi) catfish ... I have my doubts ... poorly cleaned and mushy. Service was very fast ... in fact to fast. My thinking is that they plate the fast selling entrees and then wait for someone to order. Three entrees and two appetizers with tip was $100.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DionneNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia B, Manager at Georgia Blue, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thanks for the feedback. We do in fact use Heartland catfish. We're a local company and like using local catfish. Glad to hear the service was fast. If a particular item like the oysters or catfish needs our attention, let us know and we'll be happy to take care of it for you before you leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Waitress was very good, good was average at best. I had oyster Po Boy. Oysters were so soggy they were inedible. Red beans and rice had great flavor but no rice. Seafood pasta was good. One in our party ordered it with no onion because in a previous visit it had too much. The other in our party ordered with onion and it was a lot. BLT with fried green tomato was good. Guitar player was good and not too loud. We could still
Talk among ourselves. Previous visits had music duo that was way too loud. Attention to detail on the food would help restaurant.

Thank AllOver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia B, Manager at Georgia Blue, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thanks for the review, JT. Very glad to hear our waitress did a great job. We're sorry a few of the items weren't prepared properly. The items mentioned are easy fixes if the situation arises, so be sure to let us know while you're here and we'll take care of you. We know it's the little things that matter. We might not get it right every time but we want to make it right every time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia Blue also viewed

 

Been to Georgia Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing