We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK, for the price”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's OK, for the price”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

When going to this hotel you should remember that your in the middle of nowhere in Mississippi. The hotel wasn't the nicest hotel by far that I have stayed in but was better than paying over $200 for a hotel in Starkville during homecoming. The bed was very hard for my taste and they were pretty stingy with the towels. The A/C unit worked good and they had pretty good water pressure, even though the shower head was kinda low. We did not eat the breakfast provided because there is a new McDonalds right down the road. There is a La Fiesta Brava attached to the hotel and we sure wished they had been open when we got back to the hotel that night. This hotel wouldn't be my absolute first choice but for the price and to keep us from driving several hours home after a game it was worth it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ak3usm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Don't pay more than $60 bucks for this hotel, not worth it. There was a pube hair on the toilet, nasty! Walls were cracked and dirty, don't look under the bed either because they clearly skip cleaning under there...bed was comfy and clean though. Couldn't watch the television because there was a loud ringing noise on each channel. Staff was friendly for the most part. Overall it was decent considering we didn't have many other options around there..but I have definitely stayed in much nicer, up to date and more clean hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahood87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

No improvement from previous reviews. We had the same towel problem. We had been driving for 11 hours and we were going to get a hotel in Tupelo but there was an Elvis Festival and all hotels were booked. We saw on the phone there was a hotel only about an hour away so we decided to stop there. We should have just drove the last 6 hours through and arrived at our destination at 9 in the morning. We arrived at 3 in the morning to find a very nice front desk clerk. She gave us the last room and we called her an hour before and she told us she would wait up for us. What we were not told until we got there was that it was a smoking room. She apologized and we understood it wasn't her fault. Since we were so tired we decided to pull through. First only one towel so apparently the towel problem has not improved. We went to the front desk to get more and we got some but were told they used alot of them for the pool earlier and that they were being washed. Yeah. The four of us never took a shower since the bathroom was so bad. Everything we had smelled like smoke afterwords. It was horrible. We just got 3 hours of sleep and just left at 7:30 in the morning. Should have read these reviews on here before going to this hotel. We should have just stopped at a rest stop and slept on our cars. Seriously. We had to wash all of our pillow cases and blankets once we got to our final destination. Best to proceed to nearest rest stop and sleep in car.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

The room looks okay for the main part. It does have a musty smell (rm 204). Beds are uncomfortable but pillow are plush/. Bathroom I found to be the absolute worst. Very small and if you undress in bathroom you will bump into wall which by the way looks gross. There are no small face towels and when ask staff says "we are wash them, sorry we are all out" this happen everday I was there (5 days). Bathroom tile floor has spots and needs to be replace. Housekeeping do not clean room with multi day stay, however they will bring fresh linen. They give keys to other people without guest permission. Staff is very nice and always greet you with a smile. This is the only decent hotel in Noxubee County, so I will stay here again I will just bring my own towels and overlook musty room and stain floor. Other than that, well you are good to go.

  • Liked — Internet, breakfast, staff
  • Disliked — housekeeping (no towels) and bathroom needs to be updated.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WellLetMeSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mshotels, General Manager at Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Hello,
I am emailing in regards to the review of your previoius stay at the Best Western Oak Tree Inn. Our hotel has recieved new management, and we have been addressing all issues that may keep from our guests experience from being upto 100% in excellence. In regards to our towels, we have continued to increase our supply, to keep from a deficiency. Our rooms are also beutifully maintained. Our property recently won a Director's award in Excellence for Quality assurance. Our staff continues to exceed expectations as well. So that others may realize the quality of our hotel, we would appreciate your help with a re-visit to our hotel, and/or and updated review. Please let us know if there is information we can send to aid in your re-review of our property.

Thank you for your time.

Respectfully,

BW Oak Tree Management
662.726.4334
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Property: Oak Tree Inn
Address: 46922 US Hwy 14, Macon, MS 39341 (Formerly River Chase Inn)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Macon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macon
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oak Tree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Chase Inn Macon Hotel Macon
Macon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing