We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tree”
Review of Friendship Oak

Friendship Oak
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Long Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 500 years old, this oak tree is allegedly Mississippi's oldest and most beautiful tree.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tree”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This tree is amazing. The tip to tip width is 155 ft. It is recovering from the damage done by Katrina. I would have given it 5 stars but the construction around the tree took a little bit away from it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryRandi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    22
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Even Better Tree”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

In the same area if you enter the facility at this address I found an even better tree IMO. 1170 West Railroad StreetLong Beach, MS 39560
This was advertised on a flier but for some reason I cannot find it on these travel pages.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing history”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Giant oak tree that saw many explorers. Great place for taking pics. Pick up an acorn to plant back at home.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
199 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Photo Opportunity”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

The Oak tree was really pretty, it was bigger than I expected it to be. The lower branches drag the ground since it is so old and big. This is a wonderful opportunity to take photos. It also has a nice saying to it that all who enters the tree together will be friends for life. We enjoyed our time visiting the tree. You cannot see the tree from the road. You have to drive onto campus and you will see it. It is behind the front lawn.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lisamg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Beautiful tree was easy to find parking was near by we stopped there after are trip to Ship Island was only like 2 miles down the road. Amazing it survived Katrina.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RayG2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendship Oak also viewed

 

Been to Friendship Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing