We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Hospitality starts at Southern Miss”

Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Long Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Mississippi's largest educational institutions.
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality starts at Southern Miss”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our first trip to Southern Miss was 4 years ago. And it was by far the best trip we have taken following our Boise State football team ever. We are coming back to play again this year.
Forget the scoring (at least in my case). This place is awesome!!!
We were treated like old friends coming to join a festivity. Everyone was so inviting, so charming. It was a pleasure to visit this school.
Their tailgates are par to none. They have them before and after the game. And they invite the visiting fans to joing everyone of them. I never understood the meaning of southern hospitality until I went to their school... Now Shouthern Miss University is the standard I measure all the schools we visit.
We are going back to visit them this year and we staying longer to see more of the city and their wonderful and welcoming community.
Boise State fans travelled everywhere, and we all agree this is the best place to visit and tailgate outside of Boise.
Go Eagles (but I still want Boise State to win)
I will recommend visiting this school for any event, you will feel happy and safe everywhere you go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BluePrelude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blues under the oak and yoke of friendship.”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I recommend the blues and jazz fest held annually. Good food music and fellowship.I visited the gulf coast campus in Long Beach.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Go Eagles!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Neither of us are alumni, but we love USM and its influence on Hattiesburg. Whether it is football, softball, baseball, and women's soccer ~ or theatre & dance productions, symphony performances, art shows at the campus museum, science cafe, and guest lecturers ~ or classes with the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, the Karnes Center for Gifted Studies, or other departments ~ the University is a vital part of Hattiesburg! Just wish more residents took advantage of the programs! Looking forward to more great things from USM in the future (can't wait for Southern Arena Theatre to start this summer!!)!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GlassInMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biloxi ms
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“beautiful campus”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

a small but nice campus. for a local university this small campus, part of the USM hattiesburg university, has several good programs with nice facilities and great instructors.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snooks M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We went to visit this school when my daughter was looking for colleges. I was not impressed. We went look at many schools and this was one of the bottom ones. I found the staff not very helpful when we were asking questions. We felt rushed in our tour because the student wanted to go to lunch. It's not up to other colleges like Mississippi College, but it's cheap. I guess you get what you pay for.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank tekidtMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Southern Mississippi also viewed

 

Been to University of Southern Mississippi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing